Can I use both Time Capsule and Windows Home Server through bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by potysgsxr, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. potysgsxr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    Hi. I'm a PC user that's seriously thinking of switching to an iMac and one of the things that make me want to switch is the Time Capsule/Time Machine capabilities.

    However, as I will use bootcamp to install a version of Windows 7 (partly because I'm still needing to wean off of Windows and partly because I need windows for all of the 3D programs I need to use). I had some questions about the possibility of using Time Capsule AND Windows Home Server for bootcamp.

    I've been doing my research and I'm told that although Time Capsule will automatically back up the Mac partition of Bootcamp, it won't touch the Windows partition.

    So then is it possible to buy Time Capsule for the Mac partition and buy a Windows home server for the Windows partition so that everything will be backed up automatically?

    Has anyone had any personal experience with this?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bobjob186 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Laguna Beach
    #2
    This should work just fine assuming that you will use both OSs equally so the automatic backups will occur. If you run in windows all the time then obviously time machine will never run and if you run in os x all the time then the windows server will never backup your drive.

    You should check out RAID 1. Might be a better route for you.
     
  3. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    I am doing this right now for my Mac/Vista dual boot. Windows Home Server will just backup only if you are booted into Windows at the scheduled backup time or if you tell it to manually back up.

    I am actually using a share on the same WHS with Time Machine. There is a "hack" to allow Time Machine to back up to network drives and I am using that right now. So far so good.
     
  4. potysgsxr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    This is interesting. So Time machine backs up to Time Capsule, but Time Capsule just throws it right over to WHS?

    Can I ask what the purpose of that woudl be?
     
  5. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    No no no. Time Machine Backs up straight to WHS. I don't own a Time Capsule.
     
  6. potysgsxr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #6
    So I'm told that the WHS can automatically back up both the files on my Windows OS and Mac OS.

    Yet some reviews are stating that the Mac Time Machine back up to a WHS is very lmited.

    Can someone clear this up for me? I'm really confused and I'd rather just get one machine if I can rather than buying both the WHS and a Time Capsule.

    Thanks in advance.

    Paul
     
  7. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    The HP prebuilt Windows Home server fully supports Time Machine because they have modified software on it.

    However, all other Windows Home server systems do have two limitations.
    1. Officially Apple does not support Time Machine backing up to network shares so you have to run a terminal command to get time Machine to recognize your WHS share as a valid backup drive.

    2. You cannot restore an entire system using your install disks like you can with other supported drives. This means if you say, get a new hard drive, you have to copy your Time Machine backup onto an external drive and directly connect it to the computer before backing up. Even then it might be more complicated than this to get it to work properly.
     
  8. potysgsxr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #8
    Eesh.
    Judging from the last reply, it might just be better for me to buy the new smaller WHS and the 500gig time capsule and use them both. Thanks for the information Yippy.
     
  9. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #9
    1. I can see my WHS on my Finder and all my folders no problem.

    2. Would never attempt to do this.

    I cant use TM to backup to WHS. Been researching for sometime now. Almost ready to give up and buy a 500G Ext HDD.
     

Share This Page