Can I use fusion after using Bootcamp to partition and install?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by firstapple, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. firstapple macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    Alright,

    I wanted to know if I could purchase Fusion from my school and use it to virtualize my installation of Windows XP? I used bootcamp to partition and install Windows. Can I just install Fusion and use it to virtualize my already installed XP or do I have to reinstall??

    Also, asked in another thread as well, but wanted to know if I tell Fusion to use 1GB RAM for XP, when I am not running Fusion does Mac OS X go back to using all my RAM or is that RAM I specified for Windows to use gone for good from OS X?

    EDIT: Second question was answered in another thread a few minutes ago... RAM can be used by OS X when Fusion or Parallels is not running! Good to know!
     
  2. Fuzzbear macrumors regular

    Fuzzbear

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    #2
    The newest versions of Fusion should automatically detect your Bootcamp Partition.
     
  3. firstapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #3
    Great! Which version should I look out for? I will have to check and see what version my school is selling...
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    what you mean by version?

    when you go to the vmware site it looks theres two companys selling it but there the same thing

    when you install it just point it at your bootcamp partition and away you go or if you dont want
    to use bootcamp install it then install windows
     
  5. firstapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #5
    Fuzzbear had said the newest versions of Fusion will detect my windows partition, but I do not know what "version" my school is selling. They sell Fusion for like $40 and Parallels for $75... I just don't know if these are older versions back from the time of 10.4.x or if they get in updated versions...

    This is all their website says...

    http://showcase.itcs.umich.edu/item.php?cat=70&id=793
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    that'll be fine install it then you should be able to update it from the fusion site

    if you dont need to run windows a native speed ie for running games you dont need a windows partition just install fusion then windows
     
  7. Komiksulo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #7
    Fusion is up to version 1.1.1.

    It will detect your existing Boot Camp partition and make the Windows installation there available to be opened in a virtual machine. You will have to install VMWare Tools in Windows (I believe VMWare Tools supports drag-and-drop to the VM, among other things.)

    Make sure that you configure your Boot Camp Windows VM to use both processors, and that Tools is installed, and that you've made any other configuration choices like the amount of memory, before you activate Windows. The goal is to make the VM as similar to your real machine as you can. This is so that Windows doesn't think you've changed the machine too much and ask for reactivation. (I didn't and had to reactivate Windows after it was installed.)

    As mentioned in the other thread, when WMWare quits, it releases its RAM to the OS X system.
     
  8. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    if you are purchasing fusion through your school you most likely receive 1.0 as its the only one that is currently in physical circulation... all you are paying for with fusion atm is the license so if you buy an actual box copy don't even bother with the cd... just download 1.1.1 from their website and use the key that came with your box
     
  9. firstapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #9
    I was thinking of downloading the trial and if I like it I would buy it from school after the 30 days are up and register with key from the box... Would this work?
     
  10. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    yes... that's what i did
     
  11. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #11
    Any version of Fusion will use the bootcamp installation. I did just that with 1.0 beta.
     
  12. firstapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #12
    Downloading the trial now... very excited as I hate having to reboot to use windows... this will be nice. Not that I have even had to use windows yet (thank god), but a nice feature nonetheless
     

Share This Page