Can I use MBP TimeMachine Backup on new MacMini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by pmasters, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. pmasters macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #1
    Finally broke down and picked up a MacMini. I have a time machine backup of my MBP and all my software installed but would like to just replace the default OS on the MacMini to save me time from having to reinstall all of my software.

    1) Is this possible?

    2) Since the hardrive size is different between the two, if I am able to restore from my MBP image (250 GB), will the MacMini only have 250GB formatted and allocated or will it format the entire 320GB and be accessible or will I need to extend the partition to reclaim the additional 70GB?

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    1) Yes.
    2) No, but know, that the TM backup is not an image like CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper are capable of doing.

    But the OS version on the MBP and the backup should be at least the version the Mac mini comes with, which should be 10.6.6.

    Also take a look at rsync or ChronoSync if you want to use both Macs and want to have the data in sync.
     
  3. pmasters thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #3
    I think my biggest concern is having to spend all the time reinstalling my software and if I can avoid that, that MacMini will only be limited to the partition size used on the MBP.

    Just so I understand, I should be ok to proceed as I want to then?

    Much appreciation for the quick the response.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    The size of neither HDD has any effect on the outcome, only the size of the actual backup. If you have a backup of 150GB, then it will take roughly 150GB on the 320GB HDD and the other 170GB will be there for you to use.

    Time Machine FAQ
     
  5. pmasters thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #5
    Awesome. Thanks a lot. I really appreciate the informed and quick reply.
     
  6. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    Why not just use Migration Assistant? I used that to transition my wife from an old PowerBook G4 to a MacMini and it was really simple. There were a few quirks since the other was such an old computer using a PowerPC chip, but it made the whole process really simple. I'm now kicking myself for not doing that when I bought my MacPro back in 2009.
     
  7. pmasters thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #7
    Noticed that when I booted up and then I saw your post. Excellent recommendations. I used the migration assistant and everything is transferring now.

    Thanks again to you both. =D
     
  8. Nikato macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #8
    Does this copy the OS as well? I ask because I am getting a Mac mini but want to put a different hd in it. I plan to use my external case to house the new drive and connect it to my Mac. I thought I read that there was something that came with the Mac (so you don't have to buy anything) that would let you copy everything including the os to a new clean drive.
     
  9. Norouzi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #9
    If you have a Time Machine backup and are installing a new hard drive you can boot up from your OS X install disk and under Utilities (if I remember right) you can choose to restore the new hard drive from a Time Machine Backup. I did this for a friend when I replaced a hard drive for him in a Macbook.
     

Share This Page