Can I use my deactivated 3G as an Itouch? Possible or?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Khabbi, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. Khabbi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #1
    well, I am upgrading (and paying the price, lol) to the 3GS, and I was wondering if I could keep my 16gb 3G phone and use it as an Itouch? Is this possible, or once I change to my GS phone this one will not work until activiated by another phone account? Please forgive me for asking, I haven't thought about doing this before...

    Why would I want to do this? So I always have a backup to my 3GS in case it get broken, or whatever, I want to buy a 16GB itouch anyways, so why not just keep this (I know I could get more for it, but it's like having an insurance policy to replace my 3GS if needed)...

    Also, assuming that it could be used, will everything be active (IE wifi, maps, etc) and not like I would have to go into airplane mode?

    Thanks in advance!

    Stoked about getting my 3GS just like everyone else!!:D
     
  2. macintosh.apple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
  3. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
  4. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  5. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #5
    Yep it will work just fine. I don't think you need to go into Airplane mode or remove the sim or anything either. If the plan has been moved to a new phone, the old one just won't connect to the network no matter what.
     
  6. hellrider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  7. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #7
    omg why wouldn't the camera work?
     
  8. macintosh.apple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #8
    I think GPS would work, but you will only be able to see the map on wifi, so it would be pretty pointless.
     
  9. macintosh.apple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #9
    lol, what does a camera have to do with data?
     
  10. DaGreat01 macrumors 6502a

    DaGreat01

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #10
    Really? Do you really think the GPS is going to work when you have no sim card?!

    Camera yes
     
  11. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #11
    You won't be able to do cell triangulation, so it might not work as well.

    Just turn on airplane mode right now, and that's exactly how it will work when you change phones.
     
  12. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #12
    I just tested the GPS, it doesn't work without service/wi-fi
     
  13. JosephBergdoll macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    If you leave the SIM in, you'll still be able to make emergency calls!
     
  14. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    Why don't you just remove the SIM and find out for yourself.
     
  15. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #15
    Airplane mode might disable the GPS where a lack of a SIM won't.
     
  16. Switz213 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #16
    You can still run Wifi in Airplane mode.
    Not sure about the GPS.
     
  17. Marconelly macrumors 6502

    Marconelly

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #17
    Why would anyone here be offended with someone abbreviating iPod Touch as iTouch? Seems a bit... excessive. Those who take offense to this - do you also always type MacBook Pro, instead of abbreviating it with MBP?
     
  18. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #18
    No he should of used IPT. not iTouch.
     
  19. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #19
    Fair point - hadn't thought of that.
     
  20. Tubink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    #20
    It gets on my nerves. I also get annoyed when people call it an iNano, iClassic, or iShuffle.
     
  21. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #21
    Please refer to this thread. Basically, just let people call things whatever they want, as long as its clear from the context what they are talking about.

    As for GPS, Touch uses a quasi-GPS system, where it figures out your position by triangulating from known WiFi spots near you. Not as fast or as accurate as true GPS, but works reasonably well in most major US cities. An iPhone minus cell data should also be able to use this WiFi location system.
     

Share This Page