Can I use New MacBook's OS on old MacBook Pro ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by monkeyoto, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. monkeyoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have recently purchased a new MacBook for my dad for Xmas. It came preinstalled with Snow Leopard. I am currently using Leopard on my MacBookPro.

    My question is, can i use the new MacBook's OS installation CD on my old MacBook Pro ? :confused:

    Please advise.

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    Monkey.
     
  2. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #2
    No, the disc is only usable on the computer it came with. You need a retail copy of SL.
     
  3. monkeyoto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #3
    is it because of piracy ? or it just simply wouldn't work ? I registered both old and new on my name for easy management. Is it still considered piracy if i utilize the installation cd on another mac ?
     
  4. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #4
    Uh. One cd = one computer. You can't spring for $29?
     
  5. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #5
    Both. It would be piracy and won't work.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    While, yes, it is piracy, it will not work. The restore discs are tied to the machine they shipped with.
     
  7. monkeyoto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #7
    i see.. thanks for the reply guys..

    lionhearted : i didnt know it cost only 29 bucks. is it a price you pay to upgrade from Leopard ? Not aware that may be an option. I saw it on retail shops going for over 145 bucks, hence the question.

    Cheers..
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    If it could work, then it would be piracy. However, it won't work. If you want to update your OS, the you should use Software Update for the point release that shipped with your computer. To upgrade to subsequent point releases, you must use a retail version. The OS that ships with each model Mac is tied to that specific model. Your Mac can't run an older version of the OS and it can't run the OS that shipped with a different model Mac.
     
  9. EndlessMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #9
    If you are upgrading from Leopard then it's only $29. If you are upgrading from any other previous Mac OS then it's the full price.
     
  10. nigels0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #10
    They are tied to the *type* of machine they shipped with.
     
  11. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Yes, i forgot that part ... thanks.
     
  12. sstickygreen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #12
    Since your old machine has firewire you could always put it in target disk mode and install the new OS on that machine, it will just show up as a hard drive in the installer.

     

Share This Page