Can I use the disk drive on my Mac mini to install software on my disk-driveless iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by alexlost, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. alexlost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #1
    the question is in the title

    if I can't use the mac mini, how else am I supposed to install software on this iMac which has no freaking disc drive?

    thanks,

    alex
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Yes, you can. Connect them over the same network and use the remote disc option found in the iMac's sidebar.

    Myself, since I have a spare 15" 2011 MBP lying around, I just convert any physical discs to ISO format and then transfer the ISO over to my SuperDrive-less Macs for installation.
     
  3. /V\acpower macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
  4. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #4
    For £10, you can buy one of these:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
  6. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #6
    Better spelling than "hellz"?????!!!!! :)
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Huh?

    Download it like most people have been doing for years.
     
  8. cincygolfgrrl macrumors 6502

    cincygolfgrrl

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere In Time
    #8
    That works for new applications. I still use MS Office 2008. The only way to get it on either of my current Macs was to use Remote Disk from the old Mini.

    The OP has a valid question.
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Never said the question wasn't valid, but if you bought a Mac expecting to be able to easily use 7-year-old software, you made a huge mistake.
     
  10. cincygolfgrrl macrumors 6502

    cincygolfgrrl

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere In Time
    #10
    When I bought each computer (MBA, 2011; iMac, 2014) I knew exactly what I was getting into. Seven-year-old software fit my needs until MS decided to make the 2016 version available. Apparently the OP didn't but s/he knew where to go for answers.



    P.S. I've been on the mailing list for your blog almost three years—I enjoy reading it.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    Then you should update your apps.

    As mentioned previously, if you bought a new computer expecting to run ancient software, you're barking up the wrong tree.
     
  12. cincygolfgrrl macrumors 6502

    cincygolfgrrl

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere In Time
    #12
    Whatever… I bet you think everyone who uses a computer should be just like you, don't you? And the "ancient software" works just fine.
     
  13. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
    Something like office 2008 is easily remedied. Make a disc image file (.dmg) of the install DVD using the older computer, or a friend's computer. Heck, I bet the local Apple Store would make a copy for you if you show them the receipt/license for it.
     

Share This Page