Can I use the Upgrade version?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Affe, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. Affe macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #1
    I have a previous version of Windows on my current PC (that died) but lost my XP CD. Can I use my code from my XP CD to upgrade to Vista and just buy the Home Premium Upgrade box to use my MacBook?
     
  2. kingofkolt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Not sure... I do know some programs that come in both upgrade and full versions require that you actually insert the CD of a previous version of the software to prove that you actually own it (as opposed to just giving it a serial key). I don't know if that's the method Windows uses, though.
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I believe that windows upgrade editions require you to put in the CD so it can verify that it is a windows CD. (Although I haven't installed windows in a long time.)
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    According to the Windows end user license, you cannot "upgrade" to Vista a different PC and still have the XP on the original PC. There is still only one license in play. To install Windows you need to purchase a new license of Windows for the Mac.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    The OP did say the PC died, though that doesn't mean it's 100% in line with the EULA since it was probably an OEM license and thus not did not come with transfer rights.

    B
     
  7. Affe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #7
    I purchased a full version of XP when I built my own PC which has since died.

    So would it be physically possible for me to install Vista with the upgrade disc? I can always get a product key from school at a discount if it doesn't work.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    I provided the link on how to do this above, but the short synopsis is yes.

    Install a trial copy of Vista using any Vista install media, and then "upgrade" to your activated version from that.

    B
     

Share This Page