Can I use Time Machine to migrate everything from one macbook pro to my new one

Discussion in 'macOS' started by timhelms, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. timhelms macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    NC
    #1
    I am thinking of selling my macbook pro (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz) and buying a new one. I really don't want to load all of my software and settings, etc. and was wondering if I could just use my time machine backup for the new machine to basically pick up where I left off with the previous machine on the new machine?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    Yes. Use the Migration Assistant to transfer everything.
     
  3. timhelms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    Thanks crazzyeddie!

    Do you know if it will transfer software like Final Cut Studio, iWork, etc?
     
  4. Biscotti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #4
    What about a Bootcamp partition? I have a bootcamp partition for games that is now too small for me and I want to swap out my HDD for a bigger one... I know I can transfer all the media, its just the Wondows im worried about b/c of the serial code protection or w/e they use. I dont want to buy XP AGAIN!

    P.s what about the serial codes for all my software? will they be transferred?
     
  5. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #5
    You won't need to buy XP again, use the same code when you do the update. As long as you have a legit copy of Windows, you're fine.

    J
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    You could, but why? Migration Assistant will run via Firewire Target Disk Mode, which will take far less time.
     

Share This Page