Can I "Virtualize" a Physical Windows Box? Bit of a Weird Question.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Aea, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #1
    I have this situation, as I'm moving forward I'm finding it more and more necessary to run other Operating Systems (mostly Windows), but I don't want to deal with the fuss of virtualizing software.

    Parallels just decided to take my whole system down when I was doing something as trivial as trying to install Ubuntu (Trying this before buying a Vista copy). I've had a history of bad luck with all of the "virtualization" and "emulation" solutions and I really don't believe in them.

    What I'd like to do instead would be to purchase a small box for windows use, but rather then having a separate KVM for the machine, I want to "see" the screen within OSX and be able to control everything, basically I want the "visualization" experience but having everything run on a real dedicated box. I figure even a $250 mini computer will vastly outperform anything that I can visualize within OSX.

    Anybody know if this is possible or what it's called?

    Edit: I think it's a VNC, is there a straightforward guide to which VNC software I should use both on the mac and on the remote machine?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    For a Windows machine, Microsoft Remote Desktop is probably a better choice. It tends to be a bit quicker than VNC.
     
  4. drichards macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #4
    That only works with XP Professional and Vista... I dono. Vista something. Not home basic. It also only lets you go one at a time, so if you should happen to have multiple clients want to access your server (like if you want to remotely run Paltalk or something...) MS Remote is not quite the way to go.

    VNC is faster in my experience. I use Chicken and Tight on the fore and aft, but you might find other things you like, should you choose to do so. http://lifehacker.com/tag/vnc/
     
  5. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #5
    Chicken of the VNC works for me on the mac side. I had a similar setup it worked, but I moved on to VMware.
    You should give VMfusion a try!
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    You can't have multiple clients VNC to the computer simultaneously, though, either, can you?

    FWIW...

    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2008/...le-remote-desktop-in-windows-xp-home-edition/

    Is a hack (looks like it takes about 5-10 minutes to implement) to enable RDC in Windows XP Home....
     
  7. drichards macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #7

Share This Page