can iMac run BF3 ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Tumej, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Tumej macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    can iMac 27" w/ 8bg ram run BF3 well? with bootcamp of course...
    can it run on ultra? tell me your experiences about iMac and games...
    thank you.
     
  2. JootecFromMars macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Earth
  3. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #3
    I've run BF3 on my iMac, but mine has the upgraded graphics and I've put 12GB of RAM in it. (Got 8GB of RAM for $35 last year :)) I can run on all high, and looks amazing, but I have to turn down the resolution to 1080p rather than full resolution, and that helps a lot.
     
  4. jmhart, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012

    jmhart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #4
    Wait for the 2012 iMac, assuming they release one. If you want to run games well you will want the latest and greatest since the iMac uses mobile graphics processors that don't perform as well as latest and greatest desktop graphics processors. You definitely don't want to get stuck with last years tech in a component that cannot be upgraded if gaming performance is important to you at all. :eek:
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Not on ultra, but the 6970M iMac will run BF3 with 30+ fps on 1080p, medium/high settings.
     
  6. iMarvin macrumors 6502

    iMarvin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    On the internet!
    #6
    I run it a 1080p medium, with v-sync at a pretty stable 60 fps.:)

    i5 3.1 with 6970m, no upgrades except 12gb of ram.
     

Share This Page