can ipad 3g result in my dumping my dsl?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by onnnnn7, Apr 11, 2010.

1. onnnnn7 macrumors newbie

I have limited experience with wifi etc so as the at&t 3g map says i have great coverage ( my iphone gets great reception at my home, not in a city) can the ipad 3g pull in a signal equal to or greater than my verizon dsl so i can finally dump that? any and all replies are greatly appreciated.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Maybe if you have really slow DSL. Since you don't tell us what the speed of your DSL connection is, nobody can tell you. A wired connection these days is almost always going to be faster than a wireless connection.

3. vw195 macrumors 6502

As long as you dont want to download anything :p In all honesty NO would be my unequivocal answer

4. Mpalmieri1203 macrumors member

3G is worse than dial-up. Pretty awful.

5. nStyle macrumors 6502a

*facepalm*

6. mosx macrumors 65816

Well, what about your computer? You won't be able to get online with your computer any more. You won't be able to get online with any other devices you have at home.

You also wouldn't be able to actually update your iPad. You still have to download and install software updates from your home computer.

I'm sure Apple and AT&T will still be imposing similar file size limits like they do on the iPhone too. So you won't be able to download apps larger than 20MB over 3G. You certainly won't be able to pull down movies or any sort of video over 3G.

You should check to see what Verizon offers in your area too. They offer 3-7Mbps DSL in most of their served areas, with quite a bit covered by FiOS (just don't get the FiOS wifi router). Call your cable company up. They're always willing to make deals. I'm getting 20Mbps down for $30 a month right now and that price is good for more than another year.

7. kirchnrd macrumors 6502

kirchnrd