All iPads Can iPad replace MBP or MBA???

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JoeRito, May 8, 2013.

1. JoeRito, May 8, 2013
    Last edited: May 8, 2013

JoeRito macrumors 6502a

JoeRito

Background: I'm a Mac user for 6 years.. 4 versions of OS X. Love my MBP to death. crazy as it sounds, i really like Mountain Lion too! 5 days ago bought an iPad mini and have used it exclusively, even as I write this post, no matter how difficult the task was. I had to purchase many apps to carry out day to day needs. I wondered, with all the iPad can do, can it really replace a laptop?

Short answer: No Way! Despite its coolness, it's convenience, it's numerous great apps (some free), its ubiquitous presence at the workplace, it just can't do what a good old laptop or desktop unit can. Some reasons:

-You absolutely need a keyboard to work effectively. Some folks are quite adept at using a virtual/ onscreen keyboard, but its just not as productive as the actual peripheral. I work in finance and a real keyboard is a must. For some work, an actual keypad is essential.
    - Both the iPad and mini have screens that are too small to really work effectively. They are beautiful, hi Rez screens with nice pixel density, but need to be larger to actually work with.... Endless scrolling is a time waster.
    - File management is a pain. Yes I bought the main FM apps, but they aren't as convenient as Finder or Explorer in windows. Steve jobs may have hated a visible file manager, but you need it in the workplace.
    - To use those few windows apps that you still need, like MS Access and other propriety stuff you cannot effectively virtualize a Windows machine.