Can mac os support windows programs even thought box says it cant.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by yettimillan, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. yettimillan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I have a few games i'd like to play using my mac. At the moment i cannot afford boot camp or anything like that so i have to use os x.

    Some of the games are new and some are old. Can i just put them in and try to install. On the back it says minimum system requirement windows 95, xp etc and says nothing about mac.

    Thanks.
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    No, unless they say that they can run on OSX. You could just google said programs to make sure they are not OSX compatible. Boot Camp is free btw, it's Windows that costs something.
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    They will not run. If you have a copy of XP SP2 laying around, you can use boot camp, it is free.
     
  4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #4
    No, you more than likely won't be able to run them on your Mac without using Bootcamp or something similar.

    Some games do come on a hybrid disk that supports PC and the Mac, but these are few and far between and it would certainly mention this on the box.
     
  5. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You could also install linux, then try and run your games through WINE. It works pretty well for older games.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Honestly? Why would you think that it could, then?
     
  7. yettimillan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #7
    Honestly, I was just wondering.

    Oh no Im going to make an edit: there is actually no mention of mac on the box.
     

Share This Page