can Mac OS X do DNS round robin lookup?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by catcat2020, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. catcat2020 macrumors newbie

    catcat2020

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    My ISP provides two DNS servers, just now, one server is down, which caused all Apple notebooks cannot surf net as the server is listed as first DNS server, Windows PC seems not affected.
    After I manually swamp the server sequence, it works again.

    I called ISP but they said it's Apple's problem, though they'll get both DNS servers up, they cannot guarantee when it can be done, as there is still one DNS server available hence service is not affected.

    So I want to know whether Mac OS is able to do round-robin lookup for DNS servers? If yes, any special settings I need to do?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. fwhh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #2
    Check if your macs list both DNS Servers in Network Prefences->Network Device (eg. Airport)->More Options->DNS.
    DNS Servers assigned by DHCP are grey, manually added are black.
    If both servers are listed, then mac os should (it works in my case) pick the first functioning server.
    As a workaround, you could also add the DNS Server addresses manually, but be aware that this may be a problem on notebooks when taken to another network.
    This is 10.5 only.
     
  3. catcat2020 thread starter macrumors newbie

    catcat2020

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the explanation. I did notice the two DNS servers in grey, but seems Mac OS does not pick the "first functioning server" (i.e. the second DNS server) when the first DNS server went down.
     

Share This Page