Can MacPro runs Windows natively without bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by hajime, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. hajime macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    I need a powerful computer ASAP but the new MacPro should be out by next January. As my dad also needs a computer now, I plan to buy the MacPro to share with him now and when the next generation comes out, get the new machine myself and give the MacPro to him. The problem is that he does not like Mac OS and he is not technically oriented. If I set up bootcamp for him, he will not be able to fix any problem by himself if something goes wrong. My questions is: Can I put a Windows Vista installed HD and turns the MacPro into a normal PC without bootcamp/dual boot?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You can run Windows without OS X installed but I wouldn't recommend it. You can't run hardware updates without OS X.
     
  3. Bobjob186 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Laguna Beach
    #3
    if you use bootcamp to set up the partition and then put vista on the machine, you can just choose windows as your startup disk and it'll start up in vista everytime you turn it on just like a windows machine. bootcamp is your friend...not your enemy.
     
  4. hajime thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #4
    I know. I have been doing this on my MBP and found it very useful. However, my dad does not like Macs. I guess actually he does not like the OS. If I can show him that it can run like a normal PC without bootcamp, he may be more willing to use it.
     
  5. hajime thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #5
    Do you mean without bootcamp, I cannot install nor update the drivers to run Vista on MacPro?
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    Parents and computers are delicate things, so I recommend doing what I do.
    Tell them only what they need to know.

    "Hey Dad I setup this computer and erased all of the Mac stuff on it, so it only runs Windows."

    Dad doesn't need to know if BootCamp exists or even how it works. You just need to provide him peace of mind that he won't have to deal with OS X.
     
  7. bootedbear macrumors 6502

    bootedbear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Still not getting the question: why does it matter if bootcamp is there or not if it's set up to just boot into Windows?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    You need OS X to install Apple updates for the hardware.

    Boot Camp is not necessary.
     

Share This Page