OS X Can my iMac run Titanfall?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by gusping, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. gusping macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a mid 2011 iMac 27" with 12gb ram, 3.4Ghz i7 and a 2gb 6970m graphics card.
    Will this be ok to play Titanfall?

    Thanks
     
  2. jayem1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #2
    Yes I think it would run pretty damn nicely actually. Go for it.
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Yep. Just make sure you are running natively in bootcamp rather than a VM like parallels ..
     
  4. hovscorpion12 macrumors 65816

    hovscorpion12

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    USA
  5. gusping thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
  6. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #6
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    I've got several Aspyr ports and they are good. I'm not a bootcamp person so I can wait..:)
     
  8. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Sadly i really liked the look of titanfall, but no singleplayer, and more importantly, no offline single player or single player against bots (like quake and unreal tourny used to have) have put me right off actually playing it

    as a working, busy, "casual" gamer I get no fun out of playing these games and getting head shot from across the map by an eleven year old who puts in 16hrs a day on these types of games.

    But i do enjoy things like Battlefield 3 and 4, The single player i can play at my own pace, not at a pace dictated by the people with the time to put into being far better than me.

    Still bought the collectors edition of Titan fall, though, that model was worth the price :D
     
  9. Orangi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    #9
    ATI Mobility hd 4850 - Not for Titanfall

    I have been using a imac11.1 for a few years now and finally I think I need an update.
    • imac 27" Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz
    • 8.2 GB RAM
    • 1TB hdd
    • ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4850

    Using Bootcamp I installed Windows 7 (64bit) and I have been able to play SWTOR, Guild Wars2, Planetside2, LOL, Modern warfare 3, Dayz (Alpha) Borderlands 2, Hawken & CS:GO with no problems at all.

    Then recently I decided to grab myself a copy of TitanFall, looked online to check spec which seem more then enough thou I was not 100% sure about the Video Card. seeing that my shaders were higher I figured I was gonna be ok.

    Minimum Requirements : 512MB VRAM, Radeon HD 4770 or GeForce 8800GT
    You Have: ATI Radeon HD 4850

    ..
    Pixel Shader version 4.0 (Required) .... 4.1 (I HAVE)
    Vertex Shader version 4.0 (Required) ..... 4.1 (I HAVE)
    Dedicated Video RAM 512 MB (Required) ....512 MB (I HAVE)

    When I began loading the game I was presented with a message.
    "Game start up failed because the Video Card does not support the requirements featured"

    Not sure what i'm missing spec wise as its DirectX 11.... I updated and reinstalled all the drivers and even Titanfall and still i'm unable to get it to run.... my conclusion is that maybe my ATI Mobility cards was just on the cutoff point for this title which is a shame.
     
  10. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #10
    It's simply an Artificial limitation they've implemented from what I've gathered.
    The Source engine they're using is predominantly DirectX 9c which many many cards support and run well. It seems that during their modifications of the engine for some DX11 features they put in a limit on cards that are supported.

    I've heard of many people with Mobile GPU's getting issues.

    Although I even got that same bloody error with my desktop GTX 660. Despite having the latest drivers. I ended up downloading and installing the game 3 times and then it suddenly worked.

    It's a rather odd issue and the support forums on EA are covered in threads about the issue on all sorts of cards.

    When the game did run though it ran EXTREMELY WELL!
    The game auto maxed out all the settings, including AA at QSAA x16, which is ridiculously high. I ended up dropping it to 4x MSAA incase I might get slowdowns in heated fights, but I'm getting horrible screen tearing even with VSYNC and extra buffering on.

    It just shows that engine is still very much good ole Source, and runs like a champ. So there shouldn't really be any issues with ATI/AMD mobile cards, or any other cards.


    Hell even their FAQ for troubleshooting says you will have issues with Intel's IGPs.
     
  11. TallManNY macrumors 68040

    TallManNY

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #11
    File Size

    What file size are you needing for Titanfall in Bootcamp. I've got 47 GB freed up right now in my partition after deleting just about everything I could think of to delete.
     
  12. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #12
    The download was 49.9GB for me.
     
  13. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #13
  14. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #14
    I thought Titanfall is a Microsoft Exclusive...
     
  15. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #15
    Yep, for consoles.
     
  16. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #16
    Sorry, still confused.... it is going to be on PS4?
     
  17. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #17
    And PC's... :)

    [​IMG]

    Plays like a console on my gaming rig since my kids uses a wireless Xbox controller to play the game... but with PC benefits in 3x monitors NVidia Surround.:p

    Titanfall was announced at E3 in 2013 for the Xbox and PC, but they did mention at E3 that the next Titanfall (i.e. Titanfall 2) would include the PS4 in the future.
     
  18. t0Gh05t macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    #18
    Bought the Titanfall Xbone bundle...

    Trust me I know all about the limitations of Mac gaming. Figured I'd get an Xbone for Halo anyway, kinda wishing I had waited for a Halo special edition now. Titanfall is a good multiplayer game, but that's all it is. Finished the "campaign" last night, which were all team death matches anyway. The parkour element is fun, and in does have the "double jump." But if you put in a bunch of work to make it work on your machine, as I would likely do with the same 3.4 i7 and 680x, you might be disappointed with the game itself. And the Xbone is a lot closer to Windows 8 than I ever wanted to come...
     
  19. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #19
    Not any time soon. We don't know the exact back-room deals, but it's obvious Microsoft paid a fat sum of bribe money to EA (Electronic Arts) to only release/develop Titanfall for the Xbone console (and Windows PCs), while excluding the PS4. Did they pay EA to only exclude the PS4 for a limited period of time or forever? We don't know for sure, unless you want to phone the CEO of Microsoft or EA.

    Recent news articles state that EA is very "sorry" and regret about the decision to exclude PS4. And the former EA CEO that made the decision, he no longer works for EA. He's already gone from the company.

    But when someone officially from EA's Titanfall development team Tweets in recent days that it's still being considered for MacOSX, then we begin to speculate that Microsoft maybe never paid EA to specifically exclude the Mac platform. Micrososft only paid $$$$ to prevent Sony PS4 from getting Titanfall.

    Then you come to the obvious conclusion that: Microsoft does not see Mac as a threat to Xbone gaming market. Well duh, of course it's not. On the other hand, Microsoft does see PS4 as a direct threat and a rival to Xbone. Well yes, of course it's a rival and a threat. There you go.

    http://www.psu.com/a022778/Titanfall-PS4--EA-sorry-for-lack-of-Sony-console-release

    http://www.gamepur.com/news/14008-e...3-infamous-second-son-buzz-social-metric.html
     

Share This Page