Can New Macbooks handle FCE?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jayeskreezy, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. jayeskreezy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #1
    Does anyone know if the new macbooks video card specs can handle intense final cut express work?
     
  2. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #2
    Old Macbooks could handle FCE. The video card in them is more than fine for FCE. Good luck getting video on a new Macbook without Firewire though.

    If you have a DV or HDV camera, you are better off with the white Macbook.
     
  3. UndertheRadar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
  4. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #4
    Again, unless you can capture footage from DV or HDV cameras on another computer, the new Macbook may run FCS or FCE great, but without content it doesn't matter.
     
  5. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    If you think about the capabilities/specs of Firewire, an Ethernet to Firewire adapter seems impossible.

    With Firewire you can control your video camera, also a computer with Firewire has a dedicated Firewire controller so your CPU isn't doing the legwork during large transfers (as is with USB.) How any of this could be emulated over an ethernet port I have no idea.

    All this seems to add up to a big FAIL with the new MacBook and video editing for many users. It's a real shame since the new GPU probably makes the MacBook suitable for even FCP.
     
  6. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #6
    I doubt the new MBs have an issue with FCE, and prolly cope well with FCS.


    Firewire over ethernet is part of the Firewire ratified specs.

    Adapter: http://trendnet.com/products/proddetail.asp?prod=125_TC-NTUF&cat=50
     
  7. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #7
    It will most likely run the program, but even with FCS on the system, you won't be able to do much without FW. USB struggles with a simple 25Mb/s DV stream. There is no way you can playback ProRes, AIC, DVCProHD, or XDCam on the new macbook. worthless...
     
  8. Maximillian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #8
    My '06 Macbook ran FCP and After Effects OK, so these will do express just fine.
     
  9. fxstb2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #9
    Would a MBP be better, or does the graphics card matter that much (i.e. is it all CPU?)
     
  10. jayeskreezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #10
    I was just wondering b/c I purchased a mbpro last year b/c it was said the old mb's couldnt run FCE well. I didn't know they could w/o dedicated graphics.

    Oh well...I like my mbpro now, but I wish I'd known that last year.
     
  11. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #11
    NOOOOO!!!!!!!

    That's an attachment for a bloody cable tester! Read the rest of the page you linked to.

    If you look at wiki for fw-over-ethernet, you will see it needs special hardware in the ethernet port, and there is no existing chipset with this facility.

    It's been pointed out 100x on these forums. Apple may or may not bring back FW in 2009, but for now, FW on a macbook is dead. :( :mad:
     

Share This Page