Can not adjust volume

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Woofie2010, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. Woofie2010 macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi,
    So my macbook pro is only about a week old, and overtime i press the volume up/down key i get the volume icon appear with a little circle with a line through it and so I'm unable to adjust the volume.

    I don't remember changing anything..... it was find before i shut down my PC, i haven't restarted but i have logged in and out again


    any suggestion?
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  3. Woofie2010 thread starter macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    To be honest I did check, I just restarted the computer.

    What does the red light mean?


    I was still getting sounds, just couldn't adjust it
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    The red light means the optical audio output has been triggered.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Red light indicates its using optical digital out. There's a small switch in the port that can get stuck on older MacBooks which stops you adjusting the volume.

    Must have been something else in this case.
     
  6. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
  7. Woofie2010 thread starter macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    First off I was meant to say I didn't check to see if there was a red light. I just restarted the computer.

    The only thing plunged in was a lighting to Ethernet adapter and maybe the charger.
     
  8. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #8
    Check the sound settings and make sure the correct sound output is set.
     
  9. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #9
    OP said sound works, he just cannot adjust it.
     
  10. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #10
    OP didnt say if he checked the settings.
    Probably nothing to find there anyway.
     
  11. Woofie2010, Mar 5, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2015

    Woofie2010 thread starter macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    ok,
    so after turning off my laptop over night and turning it back on, i have the same problem again, where i hear stuff, but not adjust the volume.

    If i place the volume icon in the menu bar it looks grayed out.


    When looking in settings it says "play sound effect through" selection option, and i change it to international speakers and nothing happen.

    The other two tabs say internernail speakers..... and there is no red light in the headphone jack.

    I assuming a restart will fix this, but does anyone know why this is happening? My laptop is only a week old.


    Edit: It seems to only happen after a cold boot.
    I have reinstall OS X once because i had a file vault problem, could this be a problem of a bad install


    edit 2: No idea if it only after cold boot, as whilst i had problems after a cold boot, i plug my headphone in and out, and then i just adjust sound then did a cold boot and it work......

    I guess i need to keep testing more
     
  12. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #12
    You still didn't tell us what year is your macbook?

    It's a great idea to let the GeniusBar diagnose your problem.
     
  13. Woofie2010 thread starter macrumors member

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Well i kept saying it only a week old so i would of thought you would of know.

    Its a mid 2014
     
  14. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #14
    Sorry, I scroll back and didn't catch that line lol.
    So bring it to the GeniusBar if you have an Apple Store nearby. It's the best I can suggest.
     
  15. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #15
    You could've bought an older refurb and it would still be a week old, that's why we're asking.
     

Share This Page