Resolved Can not boot into Open Firmware on iBook G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by spf2, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #1
    I can not for the life of me to get into open firmware. I have tried the CMD + Opt + O + F before the chime, after the chime, and during power up. I know the keyboard buttons work since it works when it boots into OSX. Tried PRAM reset but that does not even work either. I researched and found that maybe the open firmware had been locked. I tried running Open_Firmware_Password.dmg and it does not even load. OS is 10.4.11 / iBook G4 1.3. What am I doing wrong ?

    I am trying to reload the OS using USB.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
  3. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Hmmm…strange. The keys work correctly otherwise?

    Nevermind, you said they did.

    Stupid question, but you are holding the keys down right? Not just simply pressing them and letting them go?
     
  5. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #5
    I hold them until OSX loads. I did not know there was a wrong way to hold the keys down. I push them all the way down.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    No, no wrong way. Just some people think it's a push once kind of deal. My wife for instance, once in a while.

    Anyway, do you have a wired keyboard? You shouldn't have to use one. I don't know why your keys aren't working, but if you do, I'd try that and see what happens.
     
  7. spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #7
    I'll give that a try tonight when I get home. I don't have a mac keyboard available.
     
  8. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #8
    A 'windows' keyboard never worked on my G5's - it's never failed since buying an apple keyboard from the local e-recycler for $5.
     
  9. spf2, Feb 8, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2016

    spf2 thread starter macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #9
    Ok.. this is weird.. I was checking the keyboard keys. What is the order of keys on the bottom most left?

    Mine is : [ctrl][option][fn][apple/command]

    Online: [fn][ctrl][option][apple/command]


    Solved. The keys somehow were replaced/moved into the wrong location by the previous owner.
     
  10. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #10
    Thats great. What kind of keyboard do you have, none of the Apple keyboards I have (shown in this thread) have a fn key.
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    OP is speaking of the built in keyboard. ;)

    However, for the sake of completeness, the Apple keyboards that come in metal with the white keys have a shorter model (without the keypad). That shorter model has a FN key.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #12
    WOW - I really need to pay better attention to the title of the tread, thanks Erik.
     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    No worries. I got tripped up twice myself! :D
     

Share This Page