Can NOT log ad capture

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bedlum47o7, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. bedlum47o7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #1
    Ok The deal is i have 2 Panasonic mini dv camera's. now when i try and log on i get the pin wheel of death. after a while i will get it so it starts to show the image for about 3 seconds and then the freezes up. if i unplug and plug it back in i get the same thing. 3 seconds and then it freezes.
    now its not the cameras this i know.

    i have tried deleting the Plist
    re downloading FCP and that does not work....
    something is up and the only way ill be able to put it back is by a total deletion and to put my computer back to the way it was when i first got it. i dont want to do this if i cant help it. someone has to know whats up.

    Bruce
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Can you capture via QuickTime or iMovie? The files will best still playable in FCP, as they both use .mov or .dv as container and the DV codec to encode the video.
     
  3. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Didn't know you could download FCP, but never mind...

    Camera, cable, firewire port, Mac, software. Check each one.

    • Can you try this using another miniDV camera?
    • Try a known working cable (not one a friend pulls out of a box and says "I think this worked last time I used it")
    • Do you have a different FW port to try?
    • try a different Mac using your cameras and cable
    • try using iMovie or QT to capture

    I'm assuming that your system SW and QT is up-to-date.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    It's the TRIAL, the one you get at torrentstrial.com.
     
  5. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I'd take a look but I'm at work and I think anything with the word "torrent" in it is going to be blocked :)
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    It was "tongue-in-cheek". ;)
     

Share This Page