Can not open page

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by nita460, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. nita460 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #1
    I'm new to this forum but I'm having this problem opening up one website. Every time I try to open the page in wifi or 3g I get the message "Safari can't open page because it could not establish a secure connection to the server". Not sure what to do.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Have you tried using https instead of http? The problem may be on the server side if it doesn't automatically redirect you.

    TEG
     
  3. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #3
    Can't open page

    Yes this was a bookmarked website.
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Did this just start happening and have you changed anything in the last few days? Please give more details, because you could just need to reset network settings.



    Edit: @jmann: I liked your old avatar, but I know why you changed it.
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    You should try rebooting the phone also. Or toggling airplane mode.
     
  6. Harman M macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #6
    Perhaps the webmaster changed the way he did things. Go on a computer and try to visit the site, most modern browsers fix problems like these.
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    +1 Ah, didn't notice it was just one website. The fixes we suggested wouldn't do anything, IMO.
     
  8. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #8
    I just recently moved, I have new telephone # so I had to set the modem & router with the new configs. I have reset my network on the iPhone and soft reset as well. Do u think I should reset router & modem?
     
  9. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #9
    Can you open the page from your computer at home? If so, try resetting cookies on your iPhone and reload the page.
     
  10. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #10
    I can access the website from my home computer and work computer. I just cleared the cookies, no luck.
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    And it's only this ONE website, correct? You can go to all other websites? Can you tell us the website?
     
  12. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #12
    The website ishttp://www.bellsouth.com/ebill/
     
  13. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    Worked fine for me. Are you sure it's just this site and no others?
     
  14. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #14
    Yes I'm sure, my son has an iPhone also, we share the same network. The same thing happens when I try to access the website from his phone also. Thus is in Wifi and 3g.
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    I'm kind of at a loss here. Did you do what jmann suggested (reboot or toggle airplane mode)? You could reset the router and modem, but IDK why that would fix a problem for just one website.
     
  16. nita460 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
  17. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #17
    Looks like no one else is going to jump on here and help. Did you reset the router and modem?

    Also, for grins, just delete your temp files and history.

    Edit: Don't know why we're even talking about your router. You said it didn't work on 3G. Does it work on EDGE?

    Edit2: Also tell me if you have javascript and plugins on and accept cookies either from visited or always.
     

Share This Page