Can not Restore System please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ih8reno, Mar 28, 2018.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Hi, I am trying to restore my previous backup in my 4,1 flashed to 5,1 Pro and am not able to. It was running 10.13.3 on an ssd and now when I wipe and try to reinstall the APFS backup my Mac indicates “running bless to place boot files failed”. I’ve wiped the drive and even tried downloading and reinstalling the OS but that failed as well with the same error. Does anyone have any ideas? If it helps my Mac is the quad 2,66ghz with 48gb of ram and has a flashed gtx 680 and a USB 3.0 Card inserted. The backup is from an old FireWire drive.
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    What software was used to make the backup and restore attempt?
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    Time Machine
     
  4. pl1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #4
    Have you attempted to remove the USB card and replace the video card with the original?
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Would those parts affect a time machine backup?
     
  6. pl1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #6
    I can't say. However standard troubleshooting procedure is to minimize a configuration to eliminate as many things as possible. Especially when they're third party products.
     
  7. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #7
    Ouch! There is a ton of info about Time Machine and APFS, most of it bad.:(
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #8
    Going on a tip I formatted the drive to hfs+, then reinstalled the OS and then the backup. It works same as before and well the old issue I was trying to fix is still there. Slow boot times. 20plus seconds before the chime and then 50 more before its on the desktop...
     
  9. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #9
    Have you checked to see if Trim is enabled, seems some folks have experienced slow boot times due to a disabled Trim function after reinstalling.
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #10
    Trim is enabled, I even toggled it on and off with the terminal commands. takes 40 seconds from pressing the power button with it off, 1:20 with it on. This is on a pice ssd adapter with a Kingston SV300 240GB SSD
     

Share This Page