Can only see 1/9 of browser screen at a time

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Greybeard, Feb 8, 2010.

1. Greybeard macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm new to the Mac world, having just acquired a G3 w/OS 8.6. After working on it to get everything running I found that when I run IE 5.1 I only see a small section of the page and I have to do a lot of scrolling up & down, as well as side to side to see the whole page.

I'm well versed in PCs tech-wise so I figured it was just a matter of a setting or something, but I can't find anything to adjust. I thought to go over to Firefox, which I use on my PC, but it needs OS X to run. I tried installing Safari but it wouldn't install either.

Am I just lost in a strange world, or am I flogging a dead horse, as it were? :confused:

I have a Lime G3 running OS 8.6 @ 333Mhz w/64Mb of mem. I don't know what version of firmware is there because I don't know where to look for the answer.

Any help with this problem would be much appreciated. :(

Thanks,

Grey

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

What is the resolution of the display?

And is IE capable of scaling (CMD++ or CMD+-)?

3. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

click on apple top left of screen goto control panels and click on monitors and displays. set this to 1024X768.

G3's died in 2001 sorry about your luck.

--Eric

4. Greybeard thread starter macrumors newbie

Hi again,

Thanks for the quick responses.

spinnerlys: The original res. was 800x600 and IE will scale but only the text size changed, so it didn't really help much.

ewilson6: I adjusted the res. to 1024x768 and it did help somewhat but still no joy. I put up the same web site on my PC and compared the two and the Mac version is still way off. Also, I really didn't want to increase the res. if I could help it. I was setting this up with Word Perfect for my wife to do some writing and she is having a bit of trouble with her eyes lately.