Can Parallels boot pre-existing Windows install?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NickM, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. NickM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I've read a few different answers that contradict eachother.
    I haven't actually installed it yet, but want to know if it will work with a Windows XP install that I did with Boot Camp.

    If it can be done... how?
     
  2. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #2
    Yes.

    When you first run Parallels you get to choose the option to make a new drive image, or use a partition (i.e., BootCamp).

    This is exactly how I have BootCamp & Parallels 4 running on my work machine; I installed via BC first, then did Parallels.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    It is the best of both worlds and increases your flexibility

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. NickM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    What about drivers for XP? Will I need to use the OS X disc again if I set up a new XP image for virtual use?
     
  5. NickM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Oh yeah...

    I am at the point where it is asking me to point to the Boot Camped partition. Which position should I point it to?? IDE 1:0 ? IDE 1:1 ?

    Also, if my pre-existing Windows install is NTFS, will I be able to read/write back and forth between Windows and OS X?

    Thanks for the help...
     
  6. NickM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Update:


    I have Parallels running my original Boot Camp Windows XP partition.
    However, the orignal link to it on my OS X desktop has disappeared.

    How do I put another shortcut to that partition on my OS X desktop?

    Thanks again...
     
  7. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #7
    You've probably figured it out by now, but when you launch Parallels it needs to read/write to that partition... So it unmounts it from the OS X side. As soon as you shut down your virtual machine the Boot Camp partition will show up on your desktop again.
     

Share This Page