Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gmcube

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 19, 2009
I just jailbroke my 3G today to 3.0 firmware, and for the most part everything's okay, but I did loose quite a bit, as stupid me hasn't synced in like, a month.

I'm kinda new to the whole back up thing, but I did copy the media folder, which should have everything I want back, right?

one thing I lost was my second camera roll that I used with the swap camera roll app. when I tried placing all the pics I had from the backup folder I made, they did work, but the thumbnails were nonexistent. it seems 3.0 moved the place where the thumbs were stored? I dunno. is there a way to get it to generate new thumbs to get it back to the way it was? I'm also open to other ideas too if not. I can always upload them all and re download them, but that would probably get tedious. I'd like to avid it if I can.

Next up, older sms. I tried replacing the new sms.db file with the old, but it didnt take, it just comes up blank when I check it on the phone, so I switched it back to the original 3.0 sms file.

Gmcube

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 19, 2009
actually, nevermind about the camera roll, I was able to easily put the thumbs in the new folder they were supposed to be and it works fine now.

but the sms would be still be be cool to fix if possible.

riodr

macrumors newbie
Dec 4, 2008
Can you go into detail what you did. I also copied the DCIM folder and DCIM_2 (for the second camera roll). In those folders were 999APPLE, 100APPLE, 101APPLE folders that each had .JPG, OR .PNG along with the corresponding .THM