Can safely run two iMacs off one CyberPower 1500PFCLCD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kapalua12, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. kapalua12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I hate to buy another UPS for the new computer but I will if it safeguards my new baby.

    I'm running some 3 TB HDD's (LaCie) Thunderbolt externally powered and a Thunderbolt 1TB Lacie SSD Raid 0 Drive on the new iMac. Can't imagine the LaCie SSD requires much power.

    Should I splurge on a second UPS to be safe and have more shut down time?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I'd say you're better off getting a second UPS for your computer. Those UPS' are not really designed for multiple computers.
     
  3. kapalua12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
  4. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Are you using the UPS to shutdown your computer? As far as I've seen, a UPS can only signal one computer to shutdown.

    We use a separate UPS for every iMac (4 of them). I also use a UPS for our NAS and Time Capsules (just one for all of them).

    /Jim
     
  5. kapalua12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    The new 2nd Cyberpower 1500 PFCLCD comes today. I will have 4 all together, for all my computers (except for the two Apple laptops).

    My old CyberPower is still running strong after 3 years and the 2010 iMac will have been protected by it, as it has been since I purchased the 2010 iMac.

    New iMac goes on the new (today) CyberPower 1500 PFCLCD. I even have a smaller CyberPower for my Time Capsule Call me paranoid. In my profession I know one has to be prepared for anything.

    Jim, no I do not use the USB shut down feature. I'v had several brief power problems in the last 3 years, many brief brownouts and many "events" and the CyberPower has performed it's job flawlessly on all machines.

    Should I use the UPS shutdown software since I sleep the iMac's much of the time when I'm at work, which is most of the time?
     
  6. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I use all 3 modes that Apple provides in the UPS shutdown menu. I figured that this gives my computer 3 chances to shut down before the UPS runs out of battery.

    From memory... I use 5 minutes after losing power + 50% battery remaining + 5 minutes battery remaining.

    The reason for 3 attempts is that sometimes I find a program can block shutdown. Hence... I'll give the system all 3 attempts at my disposal.

    There are things that the computer does even when unattended such as fetching email, performing scheduled tasks such as backups, etc. Personally... I do not put my computer into sleep (I just use a screensaver activated PW lock). I also generally switch to the login screen when I leave my computer. However, even when you sleep your computer, you may have "power nap" (or whatever it is called) enabled which will allow your machine to do maintenance functions.

    I guess I would just rather have the thing shut down cleanly if possible if we lose power.

    /Jim
     
  7. kapalua12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Power nap mode sounds interesting. What does it do?

    It would benefit an SSD as many SSD self maintenance functions work when the computer is logged off.
     

Share This Page