Can some1 please SCHOOL ME on what a "RAM Disk" is? should I be using one?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lip5016, Oct 21, 2014.

1. lip5016 macrumors regular

Can somebody please tell me what a "RAM Disk" is, and if I should be using one?

I was looking on the internet about how Apple used to have this "RAM Disk" thing in their old Mac's before eventually doing away with this feature.. I'm no expert on the subject, but it sounds like you can use a chunk of your harddrive space as RAM?

This sounds pretty sweet, but I was also reading that the information created when you make one of these things can easily be lost.. I'm a performance junkie, so I always love the allure of improving my machines, but not at the expense of losing important information..

1. Can somebody please tell me what this whole "RAM Disk" concept is about?

2. Should I be using a "RAM Disk" when I do work in Logic X or w/music in general?

3. What are the benefits of a "RAM Disk"? (Any negatives?)

4. How much do they really improve performance?

5. How big should you set your RAM Disk size? (to avoid memory paging) I've read that you should use no more than 50% of your total RAM as your maximum sized RAM Drive.. Thoughts?

6. How do you even use a RAM Disk? Do you just make it and let it sit there while it does the rest? What do you do when you want to close it or turn off your computer or something to avoid data loss?

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE DROP SOME KNOWLEDGE ON ME? THANK YOU! :D

oh yeah, also, i got this app thing too.. not sure what size to try out? should i bother messing with a RAM Disk at all?

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 9.48.10 PM.png

Thank you!! :D

2. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

556fmjoe

Actually, it's the opposite.