Can someone clarify Parallel for me?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by still in school, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. still in school macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #1
    I'm currently running Boot Camp with Vista, but I'm getting tired of rebooting. If I install Parallel would I have to reinstall Vista again, or can I use my current partition?
     
  2. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #2
    With Vista, I found that if I booted off the Boot Camp partition, all was well. But if I accessed it via Parallels, Vista would disable itself requiring a phone call to Microsoft (who didn't want to reactivate; I had to keep on using it via a boot) -- presumably because the number and types of devices (presented by Parallels) changed, triggering this issue.

    So I eventually decided that I'd just wipe Boot Camp partition, reclaim it for OS X, and then consider installing Windows 7 on an external HD to be used with Parallels from day one if I still needed WIndows then.
     
  3. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    You'd need to reactivate but it should only happen once. I'm running Vista in boot camp with parallels and vmware fusion. All are activated.
     
  4. LAS.mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Mexico
    #4
    Why people is hurting themselves running Vista? That's the best OS Apple had in it's history. Because pushed many win users toward mac.
    I kept using XP. Under Parallels is a breeze, fast and stable.

    Oh, and yes. You have to activate it. You probably have to unistal it from Bootcamp and install it again under Parallels.
     
  5. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #5
    You should be fine with running it under both if you want to. It will require reactivation, but MS shouldn't have any problems with it. After that, make sure you install the Parallels tools. That should keep some things, including activations, in order.
     
  6. CartoonHeroII macrumors member

    CartoonHeroII

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Location:
    Rigby, ID
    #6
    Another alternative

    If you do decide to wipe your Boot Camp partition, look into VirtualBox. It is a free alternative to Parallels/Fusion. It pretty much can do everything they can. One big exception is reading from a Boot Camp partition.

    http://www.virtualbox.org/
     
  7. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #7
    Vista and Windows 7 actuallt are not allowed by Microsoft to be ran in programs like Parallels or VMware, unless its the Ultimate version. Its some thing microsoft did, why I dont know, but MS sucks anyways. If you need to have a VM, I'd use XP. Less overhead and more responsive. XP will cause less lag on your system rather than Vista. Just dont expect a lot of gaming in a VM. Thats what BootCamp is for.
     
  8. Mugwumper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #8
    Can you elaborate?

    What exactly happens with Win7 on Fusion? I've been running the RC for a
    while with no issues. Can you point me to where this is defined?

    And I also found VirtualBox to be less stable than Fusion when running XP.

    My $0.02 . . . ;^)
     
  9. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #9
    The RC is the Ultimate version, so its going to let you run it. You must not have read all of what I said or you would have seen that. Its only the non-ultimate versions (Starter, Basic, Home Premium, Business, Enterprise, etc) that will not load via a virtual machine. Also, virtualbox for mac sucks. Fusion or Parallels are the only way to go for a VM on a mac.
     
  10. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    I would actually recommend using Fusion with your Bootcamp partition. I used parallels in exactly the same situation you are proposing, and had various performance\speed issues with the software. VMWare Fusion is much better software, it is much more polished and far less buggy in my experience. You can tell it to use your Bootcamp partition as a virtual box and all works fine with my Windows 7 install (which I use for gaming; I love OS X, but the availability of popular games can't hold a candle to what is available for Windows). Hope this helps!
     
  11. macboy4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #11
    Unfortunately Windows doesn't run as fast this way. I had the same setup, but I installed Windows via Fusion (rather than pointing to boot camp) just to test it. It's significantly faster and seems to be less of a resource hog. I've been told this has something to do with the file system difference between the two.
     
  12. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #12
    Clearly they did it because they suck. Only a company who sucked would stop people running their operating system in a virtual machine.

    On an unrelated note, can anyone remind me how to install Snow Leopard in VMWare fusion? I keep trying and trying and it just doesn't seem to work...
     
  13. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #13
    Microsoft sucking: tell us something we dont know. thats why i converted, cause they suck. big balls.

    AFAIK, you can only install server versions in VMware Fusion...
     
  14. still in school thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #14
    I just installed the latest version of VMware Fusion booting from Boot camp partition and it is SLOWW. If i upgraded to windows 7, would it help? or is it the MBA's 2gig ram slowing me down?
     
  15. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #15
    Did you install the VMWare Tools?
     
  16. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #16
    *whoooosh*
     
  17. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #17
    LMAO... Great reply. One of my all time faves!
     
  18. still in school thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #18
    yes, it was dreadfully sluggish slow!
     
  19. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #19
    hahahaha. are you kidding me?!?!?! apple is probably the most restrictive when it comes to software compatibility. you do realize its ILLEGAL to install osx on a pc right?
     
  20. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #20
    In VMware? Not that surprised - I think both Windows Vista and OSX these days too really need 2Gb each to be comfortable. Windows 7 is better on memory use than Vista but again I think you'd really want more memory to be happy with a virtual machine setup..
     
  21. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #21
    I have to call BS on that.

    For once I am actually going to use Paul Thurrott as my defence.... :eek:

     
  22. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #22
    I'm using 1GB and 1GB for each and it runs great. I'm even playing games such as Sins of a Solar Empire and Galactic Civilizations 2 and even Civilization 4 in VMWare Fusion running on a Windows 7 (formerly Vista, upgraded) virtual machine running off of boot camp.

    That's not including the BOINC client running in the background
     

Share This Page