Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ardchoille50

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Feb 6, 2014
My confusion is with the higher end Mac mini model compared to the higher end iMac and higher end MBP (see the items in bold text):

2.3GHz Mac mini Specifications:
2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
4GB memory
1TB hard drive1
Intel HD Graphics 4000
OS X Mavericks
$799

13-inch: 2.6GHz with Retina display Specifications:
2.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
8GB 1600MHz memory
512GB PCIe-based flash storage1
Intel Iris Graphics
Built-in battery (9 hours)2
$1,799.00

27-inch: 3.4GHz Specifications:
3.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.8GHz
8GB (two 4GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M with 2GB video memory
$1,999.00

I'm not an expert, so I may be wrong in my assumption, but it appears that the Mac mini is both cheaper and more powerful than the other two listed items. How can this be since the Mac mini is supposed to be an entry-level machine?

Can someone help educate me about this? I plan to buy a Mac mini, Core i7 model, in April simply because it is the only one I can afford. But it looks like I'll be getting more than I expected.

Last edited by a moderator:

ElectronGuru

macrumors 68000
Sep 5, 2013
Oregon, USA
There are a number of reasons, Ill start off with one:

When intel makes a batch of chips, each is tested for its speed potential. Faster ships sell at a premium and slower chips are discounted. Mini quads get the slowest performers, reducing cost.

Nov 28, 2010
located
The i7 used in the Mac mini is a mobile quad core CPU also found in notebooks like the 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display.
The i5 found in the 13" MacBook Pro with Retina Display is a mobile dual core CPU, which gets used in that particular model to prevent battery drain and high temperatures.