Can someone with a new iMac please test Target Display Mode ??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by HKhalil, May 3, 2011.

  1. HKhalil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I've been saving for the new iMacs for awhile now, and today I learned that they do not support Target Display Mode (i.e.: use the iMac as an external display) if the other Mac / PC does not have thunderbolt.

    Can someone with a new iMac please test and see if they can connect their PC or old Macbook to it ??

    I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks..
     
  2. vaxt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #2
    You can use an iMac as an external display, but only over DisplayPort, and only on the 27" iMac. I do this at work with 2 iMacs.

    EDIT:
    Oh, I see you're talking about the thunderbolt iMacs. I think it's too soon to ask someone to test it out :p
     
  3. Jorojr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #3
    If Thunderbolt -> Thunderbolt is the only way to use Target Display Mode, I'll be slightly disappointed. It'll be on my list of things to test when my 27" BTO gets here.
     
  4. HKhalil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    #4
    According to numerous sources, only Thunderbolt -> Thunderbolt works... :

    http://www.tuaw.com/2011/05/03/target-display-mode-missing-in-action-on-new-imacs/

    I still want confirmation, but yeah... DEEPLY disappointed. I saved up and waited so long for this update.
     
  5. KandyKane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I'm disappointed too. My MBA is less than 6 months old and I held off getting an iMac as I didn't need it straight away and now it won't even work :(
     
  6. iMerik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Upper Midwest
    #6
    Would ScreenRecycler work for you instead of a wired display connection?
     
  7. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    You want to drive your quadcore 27" iMac with a low power dual core MBA?
     
  8. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Surely a firmware update will remedy this yeah?

    If it works when connecting the other way (i.e connecting a 2nd display using Mini-display port), why wouldn't the reverse work?
     
  9. jbsigmon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    #9
    apple employees are worthless

    I can confirm that you can't use the new iMacs as an external display (target mode) if you don't have a brand new Macbook Pro with thunderbolt. I've had 5 different Apple employees at 2 stores and the Apple support hotline all assure me that you could use an older Macbook with mini dvi to activate target mode, but alas, this is simply not true. I have returned 4 new iMac's because each time they told me the reason it didn't work was because the computer was broken. Now I've finally found confirmation online that target mode only works with a thunderbolt capable Macbook Pro and that any older Macbooks won't work.

    Thanks Apple employees. You've wasted a LOT of my time.
     
  10. Swift Sketcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #10
    Wouldn't this be solved with a thunderbolt to display port cable? Just wait for someone to make them, no?
     
  11. DrChack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    Atlona Technologies;

    Converter will cost like 120-180 bucks tho.
     
  12. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #12
    Wow $120, there goes my plan for using both Thunderbolt ports.
     
  13. Crwoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #13
    I have a older 27 and a new thunderbolt iMac side by side. I can't use the new iMac as a display from the older, but I can use the older one as a display for my new one. Slightly disappointed, but that's the only way I would ever use it. Would be very disappointed if it was the other way around where I could only use the more powerful iMac as a dispay.

    Ps. I am not using the older iMac for a display only, it's only because I use both iMacs for different purposes and most of time only one at a time
     
  14. auditdirox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #14
    And this is why I LOVE my 2.93 i7. it is better than the new 3.1 iMac in benchmarks AND when i need the extra bit of screen real estate for my laptop, its always there. I say screw the new iMacs and get a old i7, they probably cost much less. (Unless youre waiting for the beast-of-a-mac BTO i7 :D)
     
  15. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #15
    Correct, it only works with TB to TB now. I was gutted when I found out. As a result I will not be upgrading my iMac, The new Imacs are worthless for me as I ditched my external display and have been using my iMac as a monitor for my encoding PC. I hate it when apple does this. Right now the 2011 Imacs only work with the 2011 MBP...
     
  16. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #16
    It's just one in a long line of douchebag anti-backward-compatibility measures Apple likes to fire out every so often. I'm sure someone will say "that's the price of technological advancement", but that person would be an idiot.
     
  17. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #18
    100% agree, just as MiniDP was starting to catch on, they frack it up all up again to put in the ***** port that nothing runs on, but hey we might have a bunch of relatively cheap portable HDs etc in 2012...
     

Share This Page