Can the 2011 15"MBP 2.2 play BF3?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Wicked1, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    anyone know if the 2011 MBP 15" with the 2.2 Quad Core i7 with the 6750M VG play BF3 with Windows 7 64-bit and 8GB or ram?

    I heard I needed more power in order to play?
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    It works. On the beta, some people posted it works fine.
    I suggest you play it in low~medium setting and not high.
    Mine runs without a problem
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    As stated you will have to turn down the settings for it to run smoothly. If you want to run it on high you'll need a PC desktop.
     
  4. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    yes but no matter what settings it will be hot

    I've never seen mine under 200f except w/ a room fan pointing to it :eek:
     
  5. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #5
    There's another thread that you have to search for that explains how it will run at pretty good settings if you uninstall the current VG drivers and install a different set along with overclocking the VG and processor.
     
  6. Wafflausages macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #6
    I own the late baseline 15 and it works fine on all maps @ medium 40~60fps
     
  7. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #7
    2.3 ghz running at 40-50 fps at medium settings. I'm playing it on 1440x900
     
  8. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    How is the heat on that machine when playing, one thing I have noticed with all the 15" models since my 2008, is they all get very hot
     
  9. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #9
    It does get hot, but I have it connected to an external monitor w/ keyboard and mouse so I'm never touching the computer when playing. I would assume it may get hotter if I played on the native high res screen.
     
  10. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #10
    Has anyone tried this tweak in Battlefield 3?

    "create a file named user.cfg in the same folder as bf3.exe and put the following line in it
    WorldRender.DxDeferredCsPathEnable 0
    it gives you a boost of 7-10fps. then turn the in-game MSAA (deferred anti-aliasing) off and use the in-game FXAA (post anti-aliasing) instead. it gives you another fps boost with the same overall image quality."

    Wondered what the of boost it gave.
     
  11. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #11
    I'll try it and I'll report back.
     
  12. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    I wonder over time if running this game will mess something up on the logic board and cause the solder joints to become loose with all the heat buildup.

    Might make sense to get a cooling board to place under the unit while playing, as these MBP's were not build to run this hot all the time?
     
  13. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #13
    I don't think so. When I play for a while, sometimes the MacBook will shut off on its own if it gets too hot. So the computer does know when it gets too hot.

    Max operating temp is 95 F. When I play, it only gets up to around 75-80
     
  14. /user/me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #14
    nope, max operating temp isnt in fahrenheit like you said, but rather in Celsius, so the max operating temp is closer to 215 degrees fahrenheit. Your computer is running at 167-180 degrees fahrenheit.
     
  15. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #15
    What are you talking about? 215 degrees fahrenheit. Are you serious?

    It says 95F on Apple site.
     
  16. imMango macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #16
    Thats the maximum ambient room temperature they suggest you use the Mac in.
     
  17. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #17
    I have the early 2011 17in model.
    When I play campaign on medium setting, the heat hits around 70~80F in around 5min.
    The fan will kick in to about 5000rpm.

    There is no "overheat" or anything since my Mac doesnt shutdown.
    However, the heat is very uncomfortable to touch.
    I prefer you to use external mouse and keyboard.

    Other than that there is no problem what so ever.
    It gets hot but 2011 MBP can maintain around 70~90F without a problem.

    Also you should use headphones since the fan is really loud. I mean really loud.
     
  18. /user/me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #18
    Yeah, I am serious... Like someone else said, that's merely the temperature that they recommend you use it in. The CPU of an Intel Core processor automatically shuts off around 105 degrees Celsius. Fact. So yeah, that's around 215/220. Looking things up could save some people some face sometimes.
     
  19. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #19
    I'm just saying my computer does shut off on its own around 95F. Thats probably just me.
     
  20. /user/me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #20
    No it doesn't. If you're using istat - either nano or pro, then it's default setting is in Celsius. Right now, just surfing the internet, my computer's cpu is varying between 165 and 169. If what you say is true, then you wouldn't even be able to turn on the computer and do anything with it before it turns off. Change your settings to fahrenheit and see what the F temperature really is.
     
  21. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #21
    I can't think of any computer where the cpu tops out at 95F. Even desktops get hotter than this. If you look at Intel's site, it supports what you have been told here.
     
  22. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #22
    Damn I feel stupid as ****. My bad.
     

Share This Page