Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AirForceOne

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 16, 2011
Hello all

I am totally new to the iPad as I am coming from the Android platform, so please excuse my ignorance.:)

I was at first looking to get the WiFi only version of the iPad because I have a Nexus One running on AT&T and I would be able to connect the iPad to my normal WiFi at home, and when I am out and about in the car I can connect to my Nexus One using the Nexus's built in WiFi hotspot feature.

However, I discovered in research that the WiFi only version does not have true GPS which would preclude using the iPad with navigation apps from the App Store.

So here is what I want to do: buy the 3G iPad WITHOUT purchasing a data plan for the iPad and just connect it to my Nexus One via it's wiFi hotspot feature when I am in the car. I just need to know if I can use GPS for navigation apps on the iPad WITHOUT 3G data?

I know this is probably a stupid question but I just want to make sure the GPS can be used when a SIM card is not installed in the iPad as I will not be purchasing a data plan.

If this will work I will be buying the WiFi + 3G iPad for $629. Obviously I would be buying the WiFi only version if only it had built in GPS...so I'm hoping my I can get what I'm looking for by spending the extra $130.

Thank you for any help!!

Kauai

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2010
As far as I'm aware if you download navigation applications that have preloaded maps then you should be able to use the GPS without either your Nexus One or a 3G service.

If you intend to use google maps then you will need the Wifi so it can pull the maps but not because it needs it to use GPS.

AirForceOne

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 16, 2011
As far as I'm aware if you download navigation applications that have preloaded maps then you should be able to use the GPS without either your Nexus One or a 3G service.