Can the 9400M be replaced?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iAlexG, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #1
    I have the new Macbook Pro 13 and I play a few games. I cannot remember wether you can replace intergrated or dedicated? I would love to upgrade the 9400M to a 512MB Card but is that possible? If so can someone point me in the right direction please
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    No. It's 100% impossible: it's a part surface mounted to the logic board: it's not a card, it's not removable, it's not upgradable you are stuck with it for the life of the machine.
     
  3. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #3
    Ok thanks. Can the 9600GT or whatever in the 15" and 17" be replaced?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    No. If you want replaceable/upgradable graphics by a Mac Pro. Or a PC.
     
  5. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #5
    No way I wouldn't give up my :apple:Macbook:apple: for the world I love it. I was just curious because if it was possible I would go for it. I'm currently waiting for 4gb ram sticks to go down in price then I can upgrade to 8GB:D
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Apple eliminated sockets, and the cards, basically soldering most everything to the logic boards.

    Even the machines with GPU cards, like the iMac, people haven't had much luck upgrading without an Apple part.
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Not to mention the 9400m isn't just the graphics card on the 13" MBP. It's the controller for the entire system, SATA, processor, USB, etc... No way you could just pull that off and replace it.
     
  8. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #8
    The 9600 is a separate chip, and the 13" logic board doesn't have space for it.

    Here's he 13":
    http://s1.guide-images.ifixit.com/igi/XaPYhlwqukefDI4j.large

    Here's the 15" (I think this one is not the newest refresh, but it's close enough):
    http://images.appleinsider.com/ifixitmbpalum15-6.jpg
    The top chip is the CPU, the middle one is the chipset and 9400, and the botom one is the 9600.

    The 13" also doesn't have enough cooling capacity to handle an extra GPU, unless you want a frying pan sitting on your lap.
     
  9. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #9
    Ok I understand. Maybe I will upgrade to a new Macbook Pro next year
     
  10. Pirson518 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Nope.
     
  12. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #12
    Even if you could dedicate more memory, I don't think the 9400 is fast enough to really take advantage of it. There would be almost no performance increase with more memory.
     
  13. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #13
    Video memory in general really never gives much of a performance boost unless you were running out of VRAM in the first place.

    You see a lot of people buying the 1 gig of VRAM versions of GPU's over the 512 meg versions thinking that it will make all their games faster, when really most games don't use more than 200-300 megs of VRAM at once, at most.

    It's kind of like how if you have 8 gigs of RAM, and you buy 16 gigs, unless you're really filling up RAM, you're not going to see much difference...
     
  14. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #14
    So would it not be worth me upgrading to 8GB RAM in a few months?
     
  15. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #15
    Are you even using all 4gb now?
     
  16. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
  17. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #17
    Applications>Utilities>Activity Monitor and then click on system memory in the lower portion. I never seem to use more then 3GB for the most part so 4GB is perfect for me as it has a little extra head room.
     
  18. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #18
    download menu meters, a great little app that runs in your menubar and can show processor/RAM/HD/Network (pick any or all) use in real time. Very handy for seeing where your bottlenecks are.
     
  19. Pegasus665 macrumors member

    Pegasus665

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #19
    Why didn't Apple fit a discrete GPU in the 13.3" uMBP e.g 9300M GT in the Dell Vostro 1320 or 9500M GT in the Dell XP 13. Yes size is a factor increasing thickness to accommodate the GPU as well as cooling solution, but it would make it a more viable choice.
     
  20. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #20
    I like iStat Menus. Works really nice for my PB as I can monitor the temp and fan without opening up the dashboard or another program.
     
  21. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #21
    Define "most games."

    I like to jack up the texture size on games because its prettier. You can find a lot of high rez textures for a LOT of games.

    But yeah, 512MB VRAM is overkill for most people. Most games will choke on polygons before they choke on textures.
     

Share This Page