can the Apple Thunderbolt 27" display take an HDMI input?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by gnychis, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. gnychis, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011

    gnychis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #1
    I was thinking about getting the Apple 27" display, but I was wondering if I could output my HDTV from my decoder box to the Apple display. Like, an HDMI -> Thunderbolt adapter of some sort so that it could act as a TV. Is this at all possible?
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    In a word? No.

    Slightly more complex answer is kind of. The MDP models (so the non-Thunderbolt iMacs and displays) can have a special box connected that allows input of other sources, mainly used for PS3/360. However, it only works at 720p, not 1080p, as 720p is exactly half the resolution of the display.

    The boxes are the Kanex XD and the Atlona HD620.
     
  3. gnychis thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #3
    dang, that would be awesome if it could. I need to look for another LCD then
     
  4. Lennyvalentin macrumors 6502a

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #4
    If you're thinking of the LED Cinema Display, just use a HDMI to mini displayport converter. You'd need a gender changer though (or a converter that accepts a male plug for the output), due to Apple insisting on hardwiring the connector cords to the display, which is ****, TBH.

    If you want the Thunderbolt Display, you could theoretically do the same thing, provided it accepts a mini displayport input. It should do that, but this is unconfirmed so treat it as a "no" for now...and you'd lose any Thunderbolt-specific features like all of the built-in ports including USB, the camera, and possibly the speakers as well depending on if they use audio over displayport or USB/thunderbolt.
     
  5. gnychis thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #5
    this seems to conflict with the previous poster about the Cinema display?
     
  6. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    No it doesn't. The HDMI to MDP converter is the Kanex or Atlona box I talked about in my post, which cost circa $200. You cannot simply use a 'plain' adapter. There's a HUGE topic about this here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=806175 (it talks about the iMacs, but the display is treated exactly the same).

    The Thunderbolt display is a no, unless a product is released in the future that will allow it.
     
  7. Lennyvalentin macrumors 6502a

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #7
    It's assumed to be no, based solely on a single line of text on Apple's product page in the apple store; it's not been proven to be true in reality yet since the display isn't available for sale and no reviews or even demonstrations exist of it to my knowledge.
     
  8. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    It's also assumed to be a no based upon how the 2011 iMacs operate in regards to their display-input. They too will only accept Thunderbolt input, not MDP, whereas the previous models would accept MDP.
     
  9. Lennyvalentin macrumors 6502a

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #9
    Err, wha...?

    I'm using a mini displayport video cable right now with my '11 MBP. Works just fine. Or what exactly are you talking about?
     
  10. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    A 2011 27" iMac will only accept video input over Thunderbolt from another Thunderbolt equipped Mac, and it needs to be a Thunderbolt cable. You can't hook up a non-Thunderbolt Mac to a 2011 27" iMac using MiniDisplayPort.

    However, you can use MiniDisplayPort to hook up a Thunderbolt Mac to a pre-2011 27" iMac.
     
  11. err404 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #12
    A couple of companies are working on converters to allow various inputs to send TB video. There is a delay making these devices because the TB dev kits will not be available to complete the device testing until Sept. That said, these converts wont be available for a few more months at best, and will likely be expensive ($150+).
     
  12. gnychis thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #13
    anyone with the actual displays in hand now, tried anything like this?
     
  13. catalyst6 macrumors 6502a

    catalyst6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    Berlin
    #14
    duckduckgoose just let me know this display DOES NOT WORK on mini displayport.... but fine (obviously) over thunderbolt. he said it wasn't even recognized or anything on a circa-2008 MBP with DP.

    all credit goes to him for this discovery and being the first person to give a definite answer....he just received his display
     
  14. gnychis thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #15
    sorry, I'm not sure this answers my question. I am wondering if I can take something like a Comcast cable box (HDMI out) and connect it to the Thunderbolt display using the Apple thunderbolt to HDMI cable.

    I realize everyone is saying this is highly likely a no, but I am just looking for a confirmation
     
  15. catalyst6 macrumors 6502a

    catalyst6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    Berlin
    #16
    the Thunderbolt Display requires a Thunderbolt device on the other end...so that config will not work
     
  16. err404 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #17
    No, not yet. Devices to do this conversion should start hitting the market this fall.
     
  17. landam77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    #18
    HDMI output through TB in

    Looking forward to hearing sth about this. I am willing to connect an HDMI out of the SONY Z Power Media Dock to my existing TB iMac. This is crazy but I run a pure Mac netowrk in my home, also use the LaCie TB 2TB solution but I like to save on a new display and use the iMac as part of my dock station.

    Thanks for everything,

    Landam;)
     

Share This Page