Can the brand new macbook pro take 16GB RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacintoshMaster, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. MacintoshMaster macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #1
    Hi there,
    I have just got the new macbook pro 2011 15" 2.2Ghz i7. Apple say that it only takes up to 8GB but I have heard it can take 16GB - is this right?


    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B04
    SMC Version (system): 1.69f1
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled



    What is a good brand of ram?

    Thankyou very much,
    J
     
  2. Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Yes they can.

    OWC makes it, its about $1,600.
     
  3. xxplosive1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  4. Bobby Corwen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
  5. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #6
    scientists for one can utilize 16GBB of RAM. There are several people on here that have crazy set-ups. Check out the Mac Pro forums! I am sure once word gets out that these things can take that much RAM, it will become more common.
     
  6. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #7
    More RAM the better. Really isn't that hard to eat up 16GB of RAM.
     
  7. xxplosive1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    Different people have different needs, I guess. I can't fathom using that much. I can still get by on 2GB.
     
  8. YsoSerious macrumors 6502

    YsoSerious

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #9
    Dang. 1600 bones for 16 GBs or Ram. Our kids are laugh at us when they grow up.
     
  9. kushed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #10
    i mean its not really easy. for most people. i use about 6 gigs on average so i figued 8 would be perfect for me! but im not saying it wont happen... i feel like youd have to really really try to use that much ram. especially now because most of these apps and stuff arent designed for computers to handle that much stuff in like 4 years 16 gigs will be the norm
     
  10. sugarboylovemac macrumors member

    sugarboylovemac

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
  11. scottgroovez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #12
    Why is the jump from 8 to 16 so much? Rarity of 8 GB sticks?
     
  12. Andeavor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #13
    Don't bother, 8GB Ram is just fine. I sometimes run several heavy-duty programs at the same time and they only use about 4GB of memory leaving plenty to run smoothly.
     
  13. kushed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #14
    because its flagship..

    they could make it just as much as everything else. its not made any different. its just the almost the fastert you can get. so they are going to make you pay hefty for it.
     
  14. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Then you're not pushing those "heavy-duty" programs very hard. Either that or your programs are not 64-bit (staying below 4GB and all).

    If I push my heavy-duty applications hard I can max out my 32GB Ram (on my Mac Pro).
     
  15. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    Agreed, when I'm stuck using my MacBook Pro I'm always maxing out 6GB of RAM (The max on my early 2008). And when I use my Mac Pro with 32GB of RAM I can fully use all of that RAM as well. It'd be very nice if I could upgrade my MacBook Pro to 16GB of RAM, it'd certainly make it more usable.
     
  16. stevemiller macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #17
    to all the people scoffing at the need for 16gb ram:

    1) i remember when 64 mb of ram was considered more than anyone would ever need.

    2) try rendering some motion graphics for broadcast in AE and then jump over to final cut to work on an edit. bonus points if you've got some 500mb/1gb design plates open in photoshop or illustrator. i know there are a few 'spec junkies' out there who buy stuff just for the bragging rights, but please try to remember that there are also a lot of us who use this stuff for our livelihoods!
     
  17. Guy Mancuso macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #18
    I would buy it in a nano second if the price was lower. Just waiting for someone else to make the 8gb chips which should lower the price some. Yes some of us can USE 16gb of ram.
     
  18. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #19
    If you make enough money from your machine to justify the expense of purchasing 16GB RAM then go for it. Otherwise settle for 8GB RAM for now and then wait a year or two for prices to drop to a level you are happy with and then upgrade to 16GB RAM.
     
  19. MacintoshMaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
  20. xxplosive1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #21
    This is what usually happens, so when someone actually has use for it, it's weird lol
     
  21. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #22
  22. binary10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    in a bit register, everywhere
    #23
    I could happily eat 16GB for my requirements. Memory management these days is shocking :eek:
     
  23. sdneidich macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #24
    $1600 for 16 TB of ram? Grandpa, thats crazy!

    -It was actually Gigabytes.

    Whats a gigabyte? Is that what comes after exa?
     

Share This Page