Can the iMac 27" drive a 30" ACD and its own screen simultaneously?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sparkie7, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    ie. can the GPU in the iMac 27" basically drive it's 27" + a 30" ACD

    Can anyone confirm. Thanks. Also. can the iMac's screen be turned off while hooked to a 30 ACD, so effectively used as a workstation
     
  2. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  3. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Yes, if you get a mini DisplayPort to dual-link DVI adaptor.
     
  4. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #4
    cool thanks. so how does one go about turning off the imac's display which having a 30" ACD connected :confused:
     
  5. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
  6. uuaschbaer macrumors regular

    uuaschbaer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #6
    ATI Radeon 4670:
    See:http://ati.amd.com/products/Radeonhd4600/specs.html

    ATI Radeon HD 4850:
    See:http://ati.amd.com/products/Radeonhd4800/specs.html

    Notice that both the display outputs of the the 4850 are specified to be able to handle resolutions up to 2560 x 1600, whereas only the primary display output of the 4670 is said to be able to handle that. What the secondary is capable of is beyond me, which is why the 4850 seems to me to be the safest option.
     
  7. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    From Apple tech specs:
    As far as I can tell, it relates to all models.
     
  8. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #8
    so i can use the imac as a back up machine to my Mac Pro, without having to use the glassy display, which maybe more of a distraction and a waste of energy having it on. the matte on the 30 ACD and the glassy 27 display would be a pain
     
  9. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Someone else should confirm this, but I think if you turn the brightness down the the minimum, it turns the screen off. This might just be for laptops, but maybe there's a hack to do it?
     
  10. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Turning the brightness down to minimum does not shut down the display, either on the notebooks.

    The display is still on (hold it in the sunlight, you will see that it is) and is still recognised by the system.
     
  11. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Yeah, the display is on, but the backlight is off. So it will save power at least.

    There probably is a way of doing it - I would try macosxhints.com.
     

Share This Page