can the iphone replace the Palm TX?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aye5882, Jun 9, 2007.

1. aye5882 macrumors member

Hey all. I'm a medical student looking for a PDA to store all the essential medical references and I'm not familiar at all w/ the iPhone's specs. Does anyone know if the iPhone is capable of storing data such as Epocrates and all the other medical programs?? It would be great to combine a PDA w/ a phone and not have to deal w/ the keyboard like all the other pda/phone hybrids...

thanks!

2. 66217 Guest

Not 100% sure. But it is very probable you won't be able to install that. At least not at the beginning, maybe if they start letting 3rd party apps to make software for the iPhone you would be able. But again, it is not very probable for this to happen.

3. Eric1285 macrumors 6502

Probably not unless you can get all your medical info in a PDF or something. Or perhaps in a web page form and store it on the iPhone so you can browse it with Safari.

4. dallasgrant macrumors newbie

The iPhone will have the capabilities for such actions, but naming this is the first phone to run Apple software, it may be a least a year before you will see an application for the phone.

If I were you, I would find software that is currently available for at least the PalmOS and the WindowsMobileOS ... if they already have a couple programs for different types of mobile phones (particularly the touch screen phones), chances are they will make an iPhone version. Ask them if they have plans to make an iPhone version of its software

5. .Andy macrumors 68030

.Andy

I'm in a similar boat aye5882 although I'm in Australia so no iPhone for quite a while. After much deliberation I just ordered a Treo 680 to tide me over until I can be sure of epocrates/unbound medicine etc being available for the iphone.