Can the Macbook Pro get even thinner?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wuush, Jun 20, 2014.

1. wuush macrumors member

I'm not an engineer, thats why i'm asking this question:

Can the next generation of Macbook Pros get even thinner?

I have doubts, because of how big the Ports are, by that i mean, look at the side of your MBPr:

Magsafe2
    Thunderbolt2
    USB3
    Headphone Jack
    HDMI

are all connections that are nearly too big (even) for the current generation.

They can replace many connectors with mini/micro etc. Versions but not USB (they could but then many devices would be useless) and the next Thunderbolt Gen. is still far away (at least i think so)

edit: just thinking: maybe if they introduce thunderbolt 3 u won't need a new magsafe connector (3) because you can charge with a thunderbolt cable. Does anyone know the specs of thunderbolt 3 yet? how much power does tb2 deliver?

2. Carl Sagan macrumors 6502a

Carl Sagan

USB is the thing holding back a thinner laptop, all the others are pretty small and could be flush against the sides...

3. BluAffiliate macrumors regular

Once graphine becomes simple to product it can technically be about few million microns thin (that is still pretty thin, don't let the scale fool you). I suspect we will have it by 2017.

4. simsaladimbamba

They could get rid of the curves and make it thinner.

5. Stetrain macrumors 68040

The part of the MBP that holds the ports is only part of the thickness of the notebook:

[​IMG]

There's plenty of thickness that could theoretically be shaved off of the display and the bottom of the device in the future. They could also go for a tapered design like the Air.

I don't think that will happen in the near future though, I think Apple would rather keep the current sizes and let battery life and performance grow with new generations of hardware.

6. SCOLANATOR macrumors 6502a

SCOLANATOR