Can the new MacBook handle iMovie?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dagdagdag234, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. dagdagdag234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    Just curious -- I have a 2014 11" Macbook Air base model (4gb RAM) and although there's a little lag when I'm importing video clips into iMovie for the first time, once the clips are in, its very usable for editing videos (usually mine are short clips cut together into a 4 minute video)

    Would the new MacBook with its core M be able to handle this kind of editing or is that too taxing?

    And if it is too taxing, is it odd for Apple to release a new product that can't handle one of its basic (albeit processor heavy) apps?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It should handle it with ease. Have you checked your RAM usage?
     
  3. dagdagdag234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #3
    No, haven't checked my RAM usage because it works fine on my 2014 Air. Just curious if the new Macbook can handle it -- I guess the answer is "yes"

     
  4. Skylitfly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    #4
    It will handle iMovie with ease.

    Why are people thinking that Core M is totally piece of crap processor??

    It's completely capable processor, these power-hungry spec w**res just make it look like a really bad one. It's not Intel i7 nor i5 but it's capable processor.
     
  5. mjs402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #5
    ...Really? iMovie? How crippled do you think this Intel Core M processor is? I chatted with an Apple Online representative and they said it would be great to play a game or 2, use Notability for notes and the like. iMovie? Hahahaha.
     
  6. dagdagdag234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #6
    I have no idea how crippled the Core M is -- that's why I asked.

    I guess it was a hilarious question. You're welcome.

     
  7. FrankB1191 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    I never used iMovie until I saw this thread, and just threw together some videos on my iPad Air 2....no problems at all. The MacBook would have to handle it at least as well as an iPad. ;)
     
  8. mjs402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #8
    Thank you. Don't listen to nay-sayers! I'm not laughing at YOU, I'm laughing at the garnered opinion that Intel Core M is crap.

    You will have no problem with iMovie.
     
  9. dexterbell macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    #9
    It will run iMovie but if you are working with large and lengthy, uncompressed MOV/MP4 files or 4k video and adding transitions, text, music...good luck. Especially when it comes to rendering times.
     
  10. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #10
    Since it still is a Broadwell CPU, and with it all the latest Quick Sync improvements, I'd say it will even be suitable for light FCP editing.

    It's not going to be a workhorse but it's definitely not going to be a crippled experience.
     
  11. ParanoidDroid macrumors 6502

    ParanoidDroid

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Location:
    Venusville, Mars
    #11
    It can handle Facebook and this forum well. Why would you use iMovie on a $1,299.00 machine? :eek:
     
  12. dagdagdag234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #12
    Dont understand the question. In your opinion is iMovie for a more expensive computer or a less expensive one?

    I've used iMovie with my 2007 iMac and my 2009 MacBook Pro for many years and both those cost around $1,200. Why wouldnt I use iMovie with a 2015 MacBook if it runs smoothly?
     
  13. crsh1976 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #13
    Frankly, iMovie will run on just about everything if there's enough RAM (and the rMB's 8 GB are aplenty) - the performance wall you might hit is when exporting the final video, converting and compressing a/v, etc. It will handle it, it just might be a little slow at it tho.
     

Share This Page