Can this be done? Non-iPhone SIM to use in 1st gen iPhone, no data plan

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by HiFiGuy528, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    I plan to JB a 1st gen iPhone and then use a SIM from a AT&T (Nokia) non-iPhone service plan, no data. Once it is activated, I don't plan to sync it to iTunes for future updates. Can I use the iPhone as a phone and sometimes WiFi?

    AT&T wants a $20 data plan if I activate with at the store.
     
  2. wakka092 macrumors 6502

    wakka092

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    Yes, just make sure to call AT&T and tell them to block data. Otherwise, you will rack up on pay-per-use data charges, since the iPhone always checks email and other data intensive things.
     
  3. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #3
    I emailed AT&T. They made it seem like there is no such thing as "block data". Here is their reply.

    From AT&T:
    You are required to have a data plan on any line with an iPhone.
    The data plan for the original iPhone is $20.00 a month. You are not
    required to sign a new contract. The phone would require a new sim card
    to use on your line. A sim card is available at an AT&T store. The
    store location will be able to provide pricing. They can update your
    line with the iPhone, sim card, and data plan. The link to our store
    locator is: http://www.wireless.att.com/find-a-store/
     
  4. Lord Sandwich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Yup, they'll refuse to block any data and charge you for your iPhone so much as pinging their servers. Could cost you hundreds even if you don't actively do anything.

    Now you could turn off the EDGE radio in your iPhone using BossPrefs, but to be on the safe side I suggest also following the instructions in this link: http://brent.kearneys.ca/2008/07/21/iphone-20-how-to-disable-cellular-internet-access/

    You can download a file from the site that'll point the iPhone to fake servers when seeking data on EDGE, so AT&T should be none the wiser. And you can remove those changes at any time.
     
  5. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #5
    WOW! Thanks for the link. I'll have to study it to make sure I do things right. :)
     
  6. anamznazn macrumors regular

    anamznazn

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    I did it with my friend's phone. Works great! :)
     
  7. aerospace macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #7
    Just tell At&T your going overseas and don't want to get raped in data charges. That you will call back to activate when you return...which you will simply forget to do ;)
     
  8. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #8
    Or call them using your Nokia, tell them to block data, then use the iPhone on that SIM.
     

Share This Page