Can this site be created in Wordpress?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by njmitchel0, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. njmitchel0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #1
    Here is a mockup up of the home page of a site I would like to get set up. I have coded it in html(not very clean code, but got what i wanted aesthetically through html5/css3 tutorials), but have come to the conclusion that wordpress would be a better platform to create in. Can this be created in wordpress??? it is not a blog at all content would be plugged in and switched out not added like blogs. Any help is so appreciated.

    [​IMG]

    ps
    Ive already installed wordpress and just waiting to get some direction on how to make necessary changes.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Do you know php? If not, creating that site in Wordpress will be difficult for you.
     
  3. NathanCH macrumors 65816

    NathanCH

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    Yes this could be created in wordpress. Theming wordpress isn't that difficult. I wouldn't say you need to know php as the above posted said, but it will be useful to have some PHP knowledge. Thankfully the wordpress Codex is detailed enough that you could do it without much php knowledge.
     
  4. soupmix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #4
    Wouldn't be hard, though it looks like you very much have a fixed width design. Are you familiar with a concept called "Responsive Web Design"? If not, I highly recommend reading this article from Ethan Marcotte on A List Apart.

    To reiterate what the previous people said, you would need a bg in PHP to do it, but if so, the WordPress Codex is your friend. :)
     
  5. Flood123 macrumors 6502a

    Flood123

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Living Stateside
    #5
  6. nordicappeal macrumors regular

    nordicappeal

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    Pagelines?

    Have a look at pagelines framework it customisable and drag & drop.

    You can look at this review of pagelines.
     
  7. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #7
    Im with these other people, having knowledge of php will be essential. Especially to create dynamic content, which is the reason to use Wordpress in the first place, yeah?

    Anyways, almost everything is possible in Wordpress. If its not already available it can be hacked in. Again, that just depends on your skill level.

    What you are trying to do is easy though. Most of what you are trying to do is all HTML and CSS. The only part of that page that would be dynamic would be the added content at the bottom or perhaps the navigation (if you want it to be)
     
  8. prestonkd macrumors member

    prestonkd

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    You can definitely create that layout in Wordpress. You could either do it yourself with PHP and CSS or you could get a theme framework that assists you in doing such things without being a coder.

    I have a basic understanding of PHP and CSS and can do a few things here and there using only code but I am not a coder or programmer by any stretch. I have two paid theme frameworks that I use. I could easily create this layout using either one of them. The ones I use are Builder by iThemes and Headway by Headway Themes. I am sure other frameworks are capable of this as well.

    With the right tools and knowledge you can make Wordpress look like nearly anything you want.
     

Share This Page