Can Time Capsule + AEBS do this?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by SirReel, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. SirReel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #1
    I currently have one of the newer AEBS (that was supposed to work with Time Machine at the announcement :( ). Anyway, what I am wondering is this. If I were to get a Time Capsule, could I set it up to use 802.11N only, then bridge it using the AEBS set in N/A/G mode? I.e. making the Time Capsule dedicated to N so that the items I have with N can use the extra speed, but then anything that is A/G (work laptop, iPhone, etc.) would be able to connect to the AEBS. Or, would the fact that the AEBS was in N/A/G mode also cause the Time Capsule to only support those speeds?
    Any ideas welcomed.

    peace,
    SirReel
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Unless your Airport Extreme is set to 'N' only, then when any devices not N connect then the connection speed will drop to G.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Yes you can. I have a dlink g router that is bridged to my AEBS running 5GHz n only. To avoid interference, choose the 5GHz band for the n only router and compatibility mode for the n/a/g router. You will get 300mbps max from the n router and 130mbps max from the n/a/g one.
     
  4. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    Sorry... I don't mean to completely hijack... But i read about this 5ghz earlier as well.


    Is N a protcol that uses only 5ghz, while the rest are on a 2.4ghz band?
     
  5. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #5
    If I have an iPod Touch - iPhone - PS3 - MBPro all competing for the wireless then my only options are to drop to 'G' or kick-off all devices besides the N-Enables MBPro?
     
  6. klas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    no, A also can run on 5ghz. N is actually can use either one 2.4 or 5
     

Share This Page