Can Time Capsule be partitioned?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by russculler, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. russculler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Mobile (that's AL, not on the road)
    #1
    I'm conteplating purchasing a Time Capsule for backup of several Macs via Time Machine. Will I be able to partition the HD in order to do this?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    No. However, you don't need to partition to backup several Macs to it.
     
  3. ndwgolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Phuket Thailand
    #3
    You can partition the Time capsule
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    No you can't. Not easily... You'd have to open it up, remove the hard drive, partition it using other means (install it in an external enclosure, etc.) and put it back into the Time Capsule. It supports partitions but provides no means to do so. Be warned though, this WILL void any warranties.

    Edit: Here's the page in case you're wondering.
     
  5. jemeinc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #5
    No you can't.. You get folders for each computer, but not partitions..
     

Share This Page