Can we put oMP RAM into nMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lexan, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. Lexan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    London Town
    #1
    Never before has a thread title had so many acronyms...

    What will happen now we have put 32GB of 1333 MHz, DDR3 SDRAM from a 2012 MacPro into a New MacPro?

    We removed the 16GB of faster speed New Mac Pro RAM and fully replaced it with the slower older RAM.

    The machine still works but is this going to cause problems as we continue to use it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
  3. Lexan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    London Town
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Hi Lexan. Welcome to Macrumors. You can update this thread later on maybe to share your experiences in using older ram on your New Mac Pro to benefit other users. We're here to learn from each other. You may share if you encountered any slowdowns on the apps or the speed change was not noticeable at all. :)
     
  5. Lexan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    London Town
    #5
    Thanks for the warm welcome.

    I didn't get a chance to test any apps before the RAM was swapped, so it will be tricky to note any difference.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Benchmark of course is a good indicator. However, your feeling is also a good indicator. And that's more close to the real world performance. If you didn't feel anything different, no matter what the benchmark says, that's no real world difference.
     

Share This Page