Can White Macbook run DDR3???

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by veo321, May 28, 2009.

  1. veo321 macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #1
    I Have A White Macbook with 2GB Ram and I want to upgrade to 4GB Ram, but thats not important anyway can my Late 2009 (February) White Macbook run DDR3??? :confused:
     
  2. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
  3. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    the ram difference is really the core difference between the late black/whites and the new alum unibodies.

    I just bought my macbook the other week and I went with the aluminum especially for the difference in ram, among other things (like the most amazing mousepad ever)
     
  4. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
  5. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #6
    New Ram Choice

    I wanted to get a 800mhz 2GB Ram I'm buying two of them I wanted crucial, but they didnt have 800mhZ so I just want to be 100% sure it is compatible because I am about 90% sure :confused: anyways^Thanks^
     
  6. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
  7. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
  8. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    It cannot run DDR3, period. Wrong DIMM pin configuration.

    It'll run 667 or 800mhz DDR2 SO-DIMMs, only.
     
  9. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #10
    Threads merged. Please create only one thread per topic.
     
  10. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #11
    The only thing installing 800MHz RAM in your MacBook would do is force it to run at 667MHz. Why waste your money? And for the love of all that is good in this world, do a little research next time. A simple search or even a visit to the Guides section would have given you an answer without having to wait for replies to your threads...
     
  11. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    I have the same model Macbook, and I installed 2x2GB of 800Mhz DDR2 RAM this morning and it runs perfectly well at that speed.
    The nVidia chipset allows it to run at this speed, along with the 1066Mhz FSB. (I think)
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #13
  13. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #14
    Sorry....

    I forgot to make it on the same thread didn't mean to
     
  14. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=CT2KIT25664AC800

    800Mhz DDR2 200-pin SDRAM which I can PROVE it works in the 2.0Ghz White nVidia Macbook of early 2009...

    And for UK customers...

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=CT2KIT25664AC800
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
  16. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #17
    I stand corrected. I was unaware of the compatibility with the nVidia models but was going on my knowledge of previous models.
     
  17. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #18
    Yeah well the new models were upgraded with the nVidia card and the faster FSB, making this possible. :)
     

Share This Page