Can XLD transcode APE to M4A?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by matrix07, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    I ask because I did it on one album and all I got (in iTunes) is static noise. (every songs)

    The files look alright.
    [​IMG]

    And the app looks good too.
    [​IMG]

    Never have this problem on Windows before. The Chinese shouldn't be a problem, should it? (I'm not Chinese btw)
     
  2. Neskeens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #2
    I have converted many 'ape' files and haven't yet encountered any problems. Do the 'ape' files play in VLC?
     
  3. matrix07, Aug 13, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2014

    matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    Wow! Good question. It indeed plays, beautifully.

    (And FLACs were converted alright)
     
  4. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #4
    Well, I just transcoded another album. This time it's FLAC and I got static. :(
    Looks like something happened to XLD out of the blue. If I just trash the app, it will be a clean uninstall?
     
  5. coops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #5
    Think i remember something about this static issue before - can't remember the full thing but it may have been a problem with converting one large flac or whatever file nyou need the cue file to split it properly into it's tracks?

    Sorry can't help more, but it is almost certainly not an xld issue on your pc etc...

    ----------

    Googled 'xld flac transcode static cue' and got this :

    IMPORTANT NOTE : To split ape(flac,wav,etc) + cue files, open the .cue file from "Open..." in File menu. "Open Raw PCM (bin/cue)" can be only used to handle Raw PCM (header-less wav) files.

    Here
    http://www.hydrogenaud.io/forums//lofiversion/index.php/t19129.html<br /t84573.html
     

Share This Page