Can you always hear the fan?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macjoshua, Mar 15, 2011.

1. macjoshua macrumors 6502

I can always hear the right fan on my MBP. According to iStat Pro, it's always running at about 2000 rpm, which I know is normal. I just didn't know if it was normal to be able to hear the low hum of the fans all the time.

2. Cyberheart macrumors member

Cyberheart

yeah im always hearing mine but sometimes not it really depends if your using your macbook alot..

what you got is the Im new to mac holy **** is this defective? Syndrome lol dont worry its nothing to worry about its normal

3. shoegal macrumors member

Do you hear it next to the trackpad? That's where i hear this constant humming sound, like a fan.

4. macjoshua thread starter macrumors 6502

No, mine's at the back, under the screen. I'm not sure, but isn't the hard drive next to the trackpad?

5. macjoshua thread starter macrumors 6502

lol. maybe you're right. i just figured my new macbook pro would be quieter than my wife's nearly 3 year old macbook.

6. shoegal macrumors member

yes and that's where a lot of 2011 13" i7 owners here the fans somehow

7. Cyberheart macrumors member

Cyberheart

the fans are located near the screen what is near the trackpad is the HD it could be the hard drive humming. When i bought my macbook i hated the hard drive becuase it was noisy so i went to the store and bought a Hetachi 500GB 7200 RPM HD and replaced it myself and has been sounding normal ever since.. So the point is i think its the hard drive becuase i had the same problem the HD works and everything but the HD apple puts in their macbooks are 5400 RPM and i hate them they are slow and noisy i dont know why they put them in there... But if sound really bothers you then i say get a SSD drive. They dont make a noise.

8. shoegal macrumors member