Can you change a Mounted Volume Name?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by JS77, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. JS77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Apologies if this has been raised before but I searched and couldn't find a suitable answer.

    A little background: We have recently switched to Macs at my office and are enjoying every minute of it :) Due to necessity, we still have a Windows Box sitting in the corner which acts as a Webserver hosting a number of projects from a shared directory: C:\Shared\Projects\

    Now, the Macs in the office have no problem connecting to this and list it as a mounted volume called "Projects".

    We now have a Mac Mini which is also a webserver with its shared directory being home/shared/projects. When any of the other Macs connect to this server, it also lists the mounted volume as "projects".

    Now, the problem is that we use Dreamweaver on the Macs to edit the pages on the 2 webservers directly. However, as there are now 2 volumes called "Projects", dreamweaver shows an error that it cannot find the directory. (If we unmount one of the volumes, it accepts volumes/projects/project 1 etc etc)

    So, my question is, are we doing something completely wrong (other than having the directors named the same on the different servers) or is there a way to assign a custom volume name? (when you click on "Get Info" the volume name is greyed out)

    Thanks in advance for any help/advice. :)
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Are you running Mac OS X Server on the mini? If so, which version?
     
  3. JS77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I don't believe you can in that case.
    The volume you're sharing on the Mac has to have it's name changed.
     
  5. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    iGrant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Abingdon
    #5
    Ok stupid idea here, is it going to be a major problem if you just rename one of the folders to something else? Like Project1 Project2?

    Also I am going to look it up, but isn't there a way to mount a volume with a different name in the command line?

    -iGrant
     
  6. JS77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #6
    The problem is that we do still have a few Windows Machines which connect to these servers, but on Windows we can "map" each one to a different drive letter (Z:\ Y:\ etc). Also, we have a backup script in place on the Windows machines which back up the servers from these drive letters. Changing the names of the folders would mean having to change a lot of places where the references are already made... not impossible, just a minor headache we wanted to avoid :(

    That would be useful! Please let me know if you find anything.

    Thanks to you both for replying.
     
  7. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    iGrant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Abingdon
    #7
    Ok will do, still looking, I know I have done it before but its been a while.

    -iGrant
     
  8. adamold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    This is ridiculous. How can Apple let two volumes with the same name sit together in the same directory? I have the same problem as the original poster but I work on a PC network with hundreds of users and IT is not going to switch everything to placate my backwards computer.

    PLEASE, I need a way to differentiate between different volumes with the same name. This is a real problem.
     
  9. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #9
    I don't know about dreamweaver, but I have no problem mounting 3 volumes with the same name.

    if I look under volumes in terminal their just called volumename volumename1 volumename2. but they show up the same in finder.
     
  10. adamold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #10
    Right, I have the same experience, so right away there is a problem. Apple has three separate names for the same item: smb://SERVERNAME/FOLDERNAME/filename.html, /FOLDERNAME/filename.html, and /Volumes/FOLDERNAME-1/filename.html all refer to the same file. Also /FOLDERNAME/filename.html might refer to an identically named file on an identically named folder of a totally different server.

    So, say I point something at /Volumes/FOLDERNAME-1/filename.html then disconnect the other server, now my FOLDERNAME-1 is just FOLDERNAME. This makes it completely impossible to give someone (or dreamweaver, for example) a clear path to the file.
     
  11. adamold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #11
    To make sure that we're clear that this isn't a dreamweaver-specific problem. Take the example where you have two mounted servers with the same top-level directory name, so they are mounted as /Volumes/directoryname and /Volumes/directoryname-1. now create two shortcuts to a file inside each similarly named directory. Now disconnect the servers and reconnect in the opposite order. Why does this break the links and how can I prevent this from happening?
     
  12. Freddie747 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #12
    Hi, I'm a new Mac user that has the exact same problem you guys had/have. Did anyone find a solution to this issue?

    /Freddie
     
  13. skootles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #13
    Here's an example of a command I use at work to make the mount point different than the name of the actual name of the volume:

    Code:
    mkdir /Volumes/Projects_Mac; mount_afp afp://username:password@machine.local/Projects /Volumes/Projects_Mac
    It creates the mount point (Projects_Mac) and then mounts the volume Projects on machine.local to that mount point.

    Edit: Totally just realized that this thread was so old, so hopefully Freddie can use this advice. /facepalm.
     
  14. rguyor2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #14
    I'm glad you posted that, I was looking for this same thing, so thank you! :)
     

Share This Page