can you change configurations at the macstore? like HD and RAM etc..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by w...b, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. w...b macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering if i would be able to change my HDD at the mac store or RAM. ill be able to get the computer next week but im not really willing to wait for shipping.
     
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    They should have some basic build to order in stock. Most likely, you can probably find one with the RAM maxed out at least.
     
  3. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #3
    At a retail store?

    I've never heard of it. When I bought an iBook in 2005, I wanted them to install the extra RAM for for me, but I had to wait for a spot at the Genius Bar like everyone else.

    Doubtful they'd custom configure drives, etc., in-store.
     
  4. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #4
    I've heard BTO can only be done through the online/phone store. All the machines in the Apple stores are stock. Other vendors could put in the components w/ their repair shops but its not BTO (ie new parts not covered by AppleCare) then.
     
  5. tico24 macrumors 6502

    tico24

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Eastleigh, UK
    #5
    If you're just looking to increase the RAM or HD size, you'll find it cheaper to do that by buying the parts and replacing them yourself anyway.
     

Share This Page