can you change your root password?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by debo, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. debo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    By default, from how I understand it, the root account is login-disabled and so it doesn't *have* a password. All methods involving invoking the root user that I know of (link) start by establishing a password for it. Why do you *need* the root user?
     
  3. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    Wrong. We're talking iPhone Mac OS X here, not Mac OS X for Macs ... The root user is used standard, mobile is not used. When you turn your iPhone on, you are logged in as root. The root password is dottie. To change it, install MobileTerminal and BSD Subsystem, then execute this in the terminal:

    passwd root

    Then it will ask you to type the new password twice, and you'll have changed the password.
     
  4. debo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    #4
    I know how to change it, I'm asking if it is ok to do so. Like do any of the apps or iTunes use this password?
     
  5. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    No, it's perfectly fine. Had it not been okay, I wouldn't have told you how to do it.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Gah, sorry, I was reading too many tabs!!! :eek:
     
  7. Lionheart macrumors regular

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    Thanks again General...this is WAY easier than the last directions I read. You're awesome, dude!
     

Share This Page